UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Voyager
Voyager
1,241 Views
Registered: ‎10-12-2016

how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution

Hi Friends,

 

In the synthesized netlist, i want to list specific(input or output or inout) pins of selected object .

 

Can you please let me know how to do that ?

 

NOTE: Any help or suggestions are highly appreciated.

 

Thank You
S Sampath

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Historian
Historian
1,209 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution

I just re-read your post, and it seems like you want to filter the set of pins based on direction. In which case that is exactly what you do

 

for inputs:

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == IN}

 

for outputs

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == OUT}

 

for inout

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == INOUT}

 

(I am not sure of the last one - I don't have any INOUT ports to look at - and generally one does not have INOUT ports of an internal instance unless it connects directly to a pad).

 

Avrum

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Historian
Historian
1,212 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution

That's complicated...

 

When you say "ports", ports are the connection points of the module (or entity). But you say "the selected object" - you cannot select a module, you can only select an instance of a module. Given that it is an instance, it has no ports, but it does have pins. The pins of an instance, though, do correlate one to one with the ports of the module of which it is an instance. Of course, the pin/port list can be modified during synthesis if the flatten_hierarchy option is set to anything other than "none".

 

But, to get the pins of the selected objects, you can use this command (assuming you have first selected the instance for which you want to see the pins)

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object]

 

If you want it graphically you can do

 

show_objects [get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object]]

 

This will give you an interactive list of the pins of the instance, showing some of the main properties (like direction) - if you want the other properties, you can click on the items in the list and inspect their properties.

 

Avrum

0 Kudos
Historian
Historian
1,210 Views
Registered: ‎01-23-2009

Re: how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution

I just re-read your post, and it seems like you want to filter the set of pins based on direction. In which case that is exactly what you do

 

for inputs:

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == IN}

 

for outputs

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == OUT}

 

for inout

 

get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_object] -filter {DIRECTION == INOUT}

 

(I am not sure of the last one - I don't have any INOUT ports to look at - and generally one does not have INOUT ports of an internal instance unless it connects directly to a pad).

 

Avrum

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,178 Views
Registered: ‎11-30-2007

Re: how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution

You can select the object then create a simple script to display each pin and it's direction:

 

foreach PIN [get_pins -of_objects [get_selected_objects]] {
  puts "$PIN = [get_property DIRECTION [get_pins $PIN]]"
}

 

I hope this helps. 

0 Kudos
Voyager
Voyager
1,085 Views
Registered: ‎10-12-2016

Re: how to display only input/output/inout ports of selected object ?

Jump to solution
yes it is useful, thank you.
0 Kudos