cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
kpench
Contributor
Contributor
5,369 Views
Registered: ‎01-07-2015

Atrix 7 with 1G SFP cage to support Copper or Fiber port

Jump to solution

Hi

 

we are using the Atrix- 7 FPGA to design the SFP module for supporting the copper or fiber modules.Please clarify the below queries:

 

1. Is it possible to interface the Atrix - 7 FPGA directly with SFP cage?

2. Is there any PHY is required in between Atrix FPGA & SFP?

 

Please share any reference design if available to implement the same.

 

Thanks

Pench

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
yenigal
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,330 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Hi

 

The IO's will not be problem from the transceivers(SFP) connections to the device.

 

The logic utilization depends on your overall application(design logic) which is used with these transceivers.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
10 Replies
umamahe
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,360 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

SFP/SFP+ cage in AC701 used for high-performance serial connectivity with GTP ports.  SFP/SFP+ transceiver supports fiber optic or copper interfaces for high-speed protocols.   

 

Q1). Is it possible to interface the Atrix - 7 FPGA directly with SFP cage?

 

---Yes it is possible to interface the Atrix - 7 FPGA directly with SFP cage.  For example in AC701 board  one GTP is wired to the SFP/SFP+ Module connector (P3). So you can interface that port (GTP_BANK_213) of  Atrix - 7 FPGA directly with SFP cage . You can refer the below user guide as an example reference for Artix-7 FPGA

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/ac701/ug952-ac701-a7-eval-bd.pdf 

 

Q2). Is there any PHY is required in between Atrix FPGA & SFP?

 

---No need of other PHY in case of using GTP port. For example in AC 701 board, the GTP_BANK_213 bank signals directly goes to SFP connector. (Theoretically MGT transceiver is virtual  PHY here). No other PHY required in case of using GTP ports.  Please note that SFP cage should have SFP tranceiver module (Circuit) inside.

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
kpench
Contributor
Contributor
5,337 Views
Registered: ‎01-07-2015

Hi

 

We are planning to use the SFP cage - AFBR-5710PZ. Is this ok to interface directly with Artix FPGA.

Please let us know your inputs.

 

Thanks

Pench

0 Kudos
yenigal
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,331 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Hi

 

Yes you can use it.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
umamahe
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,323 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

-----We are planning to use the SFP cage - AFBR-5710PZ

 

Are you looking for SFP cage assembly or SFP Transceiver? 

 

FYI: The suggested part AFBR-5710PZ  is family of SFP optical transceivers.

(Data sheet link: http://www.avagotech.com/pages/en/optical_transceivers/ethernet/gigabit_ethernet/afbr-5710pz/)

 

The Cage is different. That is only mechanical housing for transceiver. For example AC701 used Molex make cage (Part No: 74754-0101). It does not include Transceiver part. You need to buy SFP Transceiver seperately along with SFP Cage.

(Data sheet Link: http://www.molex.com/molex/products/datasheet.jsp?part=active/0747540101_IO_CONNECTORS.xml)

  

 

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
kpench
Contributor
Contributor
5,310 Views
Registered: ‎01-07-2015

Hi

 

Please clarify the below queries:

 

1. Is GTP_BANK_213 of Atrix - 7 FPGA will support SFP transceiver with copper & Fiber directly?

 

2. Is GTP_BANK_213 of Atrix - 7 FPGA will support both SFP & SFP+ transceivers directly?

 

 

Thanks

Pench

0 Kudos
umamahe
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,306 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

Q1. Is GTP_BANK_213 of Atrix - 7 FPGA will support SFP transceiver with copper & Fiber directly?

 

Yes.You need to use sutable transceiver for copper / Fiber links

 

 

Q2. Is GTP_BANK_213 of Atrix - 7 FPGA will support both SFP & SFP+ transceivers directly?

 

Yes.

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
kpench
Contributor
Contributor
5,298 Views
Registered: ‎01-07-2015

Hi,

 

can u please suggest any part numbers for the copper and fiber transceivers for both SFP & SFP+ with Artix 7 FPGA.

 

 

Thanks

Pench

0 Kudos
umamahe
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
5,288 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

I do not have any information what modules part numbers were exactly tested on AC701 (Probably wait for other contributors inputs). But theoretically any standard SFP/SFP+ transceiver supposed to be work with proper cage fitting.

 

FYI: The below are some transceivers tested in other boards  (Which Itracked information):-  

 

For copper (1000Base-T)--- The Agilent HBCU-5710R transceivers (Data sheet: http://www.datasheetcatalog.com/datasheets_pdf/H/B/C/U/HBCU-5710R.shtml )was tested on the ML605 board. But I am not sure whether anybody tested on AC 701 or not. You can find related discussion in the following forum link http://forums.xilinx.com/xlnx/board/crawl_message?board.id=XLNXBRD&message.id=8794

 

 For Fiber --Any standard SFP+ Fiber optical module supposed to be work. It was tested in many boards like SP605/VC709 and others.

Related discussion can be found in http://forums.xilinx.com/xlnx/board/crawl_message?board.id=XLNXBRD&message.id=7219

You can find related discussion in the following forum post http://forums.xilinx.com/xlnx/board/crawl_message?board.id=XLNXBRD&message.id=8794

Also refer http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/43346.html

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
kpench
Contributor
Contributor
5,275 Views
Registered: ‎01-07-2015

Hi

 

As per the Artix 7 FPGA datasheet, 4 GTP transceivers are avialable. we need 4 SFP/SFP+ ports are needed. Is it ok to use single chip for supporting 4 SFP/SGP+ ports including logic and IO fitment.

 

Please share your inputs.

 

Thanks

Pench

0 Kudos
yenigal
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,331 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Hi

 

The IO's will not be problem from the transceivers(SFP) connections to the device.

 

The logic utilization depends on your overall application(design logic) which is used with these transceivers.

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos