cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
5,980 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

ICAP usage on Virtex 5

Jump to solution

 

Hi,

 

I am working on a partial reconfiguration project,

firstly doing a simple PR with a small region on Virtex 5 LX110t using ICAP,

bitstream is fed to icap from BRAM, clock is about 33 MHz.

icap does not give any output (always 0), i can't see 9F and DF transitions.

Here are the chipscope shots:

icap_int_top.jpg

full scale of PR cycle

 

icap_int_front1.jpg

 

icap_int_front2.jpg

sync word(5599AA66) is given

 

icap_int_back.jpg

end of PR cycle

icap does not give response and reconfiguration does not work


can anyone help about the mistake

regards,

Burak

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
7,311 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Also problem is solved,

Persist option of Bitgen was wrong, due to not using PROM for bitstream storage, but using BRAM,

but could not clearly understand why,

as i know Persist selects configuration logic ports for SelectMap or other configuration interfaces,

i would appreciate, anyone sees the issue and enlighten me

Regards,

Burak

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
5,975 Views
Registered: ‎03-28-2012

send your email id

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
5,924 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

sent

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
5,841 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

i still could not solve the problem,

downloading partial bitfile from JTAG works, but ICAP doesn't give output, always 0,

ICAP is ICAP_X0Y1, so it is correct,

also tried nededge and podedge clock for input signals of ICAP ...

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
5,821 Views
Registered: ‎05-22-2012

I am trying to do the same thing as you.  How did you convert the bit file for storage in BRAM? Based on my searches and the limited information on ICAP, I am not sure ICAP is capable of handling this type of self-reconfiguration from BRAM. Do you have example code of how you connected the ICAP to the BRAM?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
5,803 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

BRAM data is MCS file hex content, generated with PROMgen

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
7,312 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Also problem is solved,

Persist option of Bitgen was wrong, due to not using PROM for bitstream storage, but using BRAM,

but could not clearly understand why,

as i know Persist selects configuration logic ports for SelectMap or other configuration interfaces,

i would appreciate, anyone sees the issue and enlighten me

Regards,

Burak

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
5,275 Views
Registered: ‎03-16-2012

Hi again,

 

Does ICAP support non-continuous data loading like SelectMap,

 

if so, is it same with SelectMap, can i find a document about it?

 

Configuration user guides mention about SelectMap but not for ICAP

 

appreciate for any help,

 

Burak

0 Kudos