Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Installation and Setup OpenCV

Jump to solution

Hey guys, 

First off, thanks for taking the time to read this and answer my questions. I am really new to hardware design / any hardware more complex than an Arduino...

I have a ZC702 evaluation kit (http://www.xilinx.com/products/boards-and-kits/EK-Z7-ZC702-G.htm) and I've managed to follow all of the documentation regarding how to test the board, connect to the UART, boot the included Linux, etc. 

I noticed that the DVD that came with the kit was outdated, so I downloaded the new versions of ISE and Vivado.

I want to begin using HLS and OpenCV. I've downloaded the demo application (http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/application_notes/xapp1167.zip) and am looking through it's readme.

Here is my question: I can't tell from the documentation what the Vivado suite provides for me versus the ISE suite (and yes I saw the comparison chart, but it didn't REALLY tell me anything). Can anyone give me a quick run-down on these two suites and when to use what for what? Any specific information will be greatly appreciated.

I apologize for the newbie question, I just need to get off the groud. Thanks

-aclark

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
  1. I wouldn't say Vivado is a "rewritten" ISE. The only commonality between them is they are for Xilinx FPGA design and implementation. Everything else (design flow, methodology, features) is different and better in Vivado. If you are new to Xilinx FPGA, I would highly recommend you start with Vivado as newer devices will be ONLY supported in Vivado. This way you don't need to learn two tools.
  2. There are plenty of examples and documents to get you started with implementing Zynq designs in Vivado and IPI (IP Integrator). Give them a try and let's know how it works.