UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor stefuni
Visitor

Zynq: UART use modem control RTS/CTS only

Jump to solution

Hi,

I'm new to Zynq (did some spartan-3 in the past) and have a problem that must have occured before but I can't find anything on the subject.

I managed to get the UART0 signals on the EMIO interface and connect RXD and TXD to IO pins. Now I want to add RTS/CTS and have added "modem" lines to EMIO. But this includes all modem lines, not just RTS/CTS. If I just assign RTS/CTS to pins and leave the others default I get errors during bitstream generation:

ERROR: [Drc 23-20] Rule violation (NSTD-1) Unspecified I/O Standard - 4 out of 138 logical ports ...

ERROR: [Drc 23-20] Rule violation (UCIO-1) Unconstrained Logical Port - 4 out of 138 logical ports ...

How to only connect specified modem lines to EMIO and IO pins?

I'm using a MicroZed board and Vivado 2014.2

Regards,

Stef

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor stefuni
Visitor

Re: Zynq: UART use modem control RTS/CTS only

Jump to solution

Okay, I have found a solution in the mean time:

-Expand the UART0 bus

- Connect the signals you want

- Tie up any left over inputs to a constant

See attached picture as well.

uart_part.png
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Jump to solution

Hi,

As you know that you are only using  RTS/CTS of modem, you can reduce this error to warning using following commands

set_property SEVERITY {Warning} [get_drc_checks NSTD-1]
set_property SEVERITY {Warning} [get_drc_checks UCIO-1]

this usually is not recommanded but in your case this will not cause any issue

hope this helps

thanks 

Shreyas