cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
lionrouge
Adventurer
Adventurer
3,773 Views
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

x4 SPI indirect programming

Jump to solution

Hi !

I have a KC705 board and i can't make it program it's SPI Flash in x4 indirect programming mode.

What i do:

In Vivado i open implemented design and write in TCL console:

set_property BITSTREAM.CONFIG.SPI_BUSWIDTH 4 [curent_design]

The command doesn't report any errors or warnings.

Then i run iMPACT and create an MCS file.

When in IMPACT i initialize chain and select BPI/SPI it asks for Flash model and SPI mode. When i choose x4 it raises a warning saying that the MCS file was not created in x4 mode and that i shouldn't flash it that way.

How do i create an x4 SPI MCS file?

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
lionrouge
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,724 Views
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Looks like Vivado 2013.4 has the same bug as 2012.3 and following this advice solved my problem:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/53582.html

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
kkn
Moderator
Moderator
3,763 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

use the following tcl command in vivado, change the bitfile name according your design file name

write_cfgmem -format mcs -interface spix4 -size 128 -loadbit "up 0x0 test.bit" -file main.mcs

 

--Krishna

lionrouge
Adventurer
Adventurer
3,757 Views
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

I have Vivado 2013.4 so i don't have write_cfgmem command.

0 Kudos
lionrouge
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,725 Views
Registered: ‎01-27-2014

Looks like Vivado 2013.4 has the same bug as 2012.3 and following this advice solved my problem:

http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/53582.html

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
lionrouge
Adventurer
Adventurer
3,435 Views
Registered: ‎01-27-2014
I faced another problem: the programming time does not look to depend on SPI clock. I set 50MHz and 25MHz and the FPGA loads the simplest firmware (one LED ligthing) for 7-9 seconds. Is it ok? Maybe i do smth. wrong?
0 Kudos