UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser: Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Reply

Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it

Accepted Solution Solved
Explorer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎12-08-2007
Accepted Solution

Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it

I am trying to use the ATLYS (Sp6) board.

I am succesfull in accessing it via the Digilent Adept application.

But once I try to use it form the ISE the cable not recognized.

 

I attach a description of the problem.

 

Any advice ?

 

thanks

Dag

Highlighted
Explorer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

I found the problem:

 

one needs to create another folder and place the files

 

libCseDigilent.so

libCseDigilent.xml

 

under it

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/libCseDigilent/

 

My mistake was that I placed the files under

 

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/

 

 

I now have the Atlys board connected to the ISE (iMPACT) on Ubuntu 11.10

 

Dag

View solution in original post


All Replies
Voyager
Posts: 1,108
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it

According to the Digilent setup guide, the 'digilent_plugin' doesn't automatically appear in the list under iMPACT, Output, Cable Setup. Cable Plug-in. You have to type it in manually. Please give that a go!

Explorer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

 

Here is an update: I succeeded to install the board on Windows XP.

 

Now I am trying to make it work on Linux, Ubuntu 11.04
Linux  2.6.38-10-generic #46-Ubuntu SMP Tue Jun 28 15:05:41 UTC 2011 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux

on which I have intalled Xilinx Design Suite 13.1.

I did the following:

1. Extract Digilent.zip file into <Xilinx_13_1_install_Dir>\ISE_

DS\EDK\board folder.
which contains the

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/EDK/board/Digilent/ipxact/Digilent_Atlys/data

2. copied The Plug-in files “libCseDigilent.so” and “libCseDigilent.xml”
into folder:

 /opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent
3. Installed the Adept System on Ubuntu:
 by running the install.sh
I guess it is working since I did not receive any errors while installing and when I do lsusb I see

Bus 008 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub

Bus 007 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 006 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 005 Device 003: ID 046d:c31d Logitech, Inc.
Bus 005 Device 002: ID 046d:c05a Logitech, Inc. Optical Mouse M90
Bus 005 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 004 Device 005: ID 04e2:1410 Exar Corp.
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 006: ID 1443:0007 Digilent CoolRunner-II CPLD Starter Kit
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 001 Device 002: ID 0bc2:2100 Seagate RSS LLC
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
4. in iMPACT I do cable setup:

I type: digilent_plugin

but I still get the mesage:

ERROR:iMPACT - Could not open plug-in of the type: digilent_plugin. Please check to make sure the correct plug-in for this type is properly installed.
The following targetNames are available:
  xilinx_svffile (libCseSvfFilePlugin)
  auto (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_parallel (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_platformusb (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_file (libCseXilCommPlugin)
  xilinx_xvc (libCseXvcPlugin)

Any advise ?
thanks
Dag
Highlighted
Explorer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

I found the problem:

 

one needs to create another folder and place the files

 

libCseDigilent.so

libCseDigilent.xml

 

under it

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/libCseDigilent/

 

My mistake was that I placed the files under

 

/opt/Xilinx/13.1/ISE_DS/ISE/lib/lin/plugins/Digilent/

 

 

I now have the Atlys board connected to the ISE (iMPACT) on Ubuntu 11.10

 

Dag

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-11-2012

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

Where did you get the plugins directory under Xilinx/ISE/bin/lin ? my installation doesn't sho anything like that.

I have the digilent directory but not the plugins

 

 

Thanks

C

Explorer
Posts: 107
Registered: ‎12-08-2007

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

Just create it yourself

Newbie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-27-2016

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

How do I solve the problem? My atlys board isnt being recognized by the adept. Please tell me steps to be taken after installing ise and adept. I am working on windows 8.1/10 . xilinx 13.2 installed

Administrator
Posts: 226
Registered: ‎07-23-2015

Re: Digilent ATLYS board -- iMPACT does not detect it on Linux

@saahil.kitture11 ISE 13.2 is not compatible with Windows 8.1/10. Are you sure Adept is compatible?

 

Just FYI, try opening a new thread than posting on a solved thread to get more visibility and responses. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------