Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Determining the Pin Information on a DAC

Hello Xilinx Forums.

I'm a university student and have recently gained access to the ML605 Virtex 6 Device as well as a DAC, the Analog Devices AD9129. I'm at a point where I have impemented several tests of the fpga and now am confident in my ability to program the board through Xilinx ISE. My question is how might I be able to incorporate my new DAC, which is designed to connect to the ML605 through the HPC-LPC connection port, into the pin map of my VHDL script?

I have the data sheet for the the DAC (http://www.analog.com/media/en/technical-documentation/data-sheets/AD9119_9129.pdf) but am unsure of what specified connections on the data sheet would go with outputs given by the ml605.ucf. 

I've also found a basic DSP project for just this fpga and dac with a bit file already compiled, https://wiki.analog.com/resources/fpga/xilinx/interposer/ad9129. I've programmed the board with this bit file and yes, it does work and I generate a single frequency on the spectrum analyzer. It's just that I don't know how I might be able to re-appropriate this bit file into a functional program so that I can create more advanced DSP programs. The downloaded BIT file comes in a directory with many other .v files. Is tere a way I can edit this compiled code?

Thnaks in advance, Donald

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

Re: Determining the Pin Information on a DAC

Hey again, maybe this question is more specific and better to be answered.

I have an open source bit file that I know worls on my fpga. However, I wish to be able to edit that program. Is there any way that I can decompile the bit file so that I can edit it in ISE?

0 Kudos
Highlighted

Re: Determining the Pin Information on a DAC

@dhersam  Is there any way that I can decompile the bit file so that I can edit it in ISE?