cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
manish.ranade
Participant
Participant
21,532 Views
Registered: ‎05-12-2009

Digilent Atlys board

Hello,

Has anyone used Digilent's Atlys board?

 

Keen on knowing DDR b/w obtained and MIG settings suitable to use that memory.

There's no reference design yet

Cheers,

Manish 

 

0 Kudos
41 Replies
ksharma3
Visitor
Visitor
14,193 Views
Registered: ‎05-20-2013

Hi, I have created a new post . Would you be able to clarify some doubts I have regarding HDMI input and ucf files.
Thanks
0 Kudos
asmartin
Visitor
Visitor
13,839 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

Well regarding this ATLYS board from Digilent, memory is now MIRA manufactured (no information or datasheet through internet), and MIG is not able to configure a suitable MCB for MIRA: ATLYS memory is not supported by Xilinx MIG, and you need to "patch" file generated for MICRON. It's a bull**bleep** more like a FPGA board, this ATLYS.

 

I strongly recommend NEVER USE DIGILENT BOARDS, because you never know what compnents you will find on them. And probably their cmponents would not be supported by original Xilinx development tools like MIG.

 

I'm a very disappointed ATLYS customer (enginner of telecommunications) with an ATLYS ready to throw it away to trash.

 

I recommend an original SP601 or SP605 instead.

0 Kudos
joelby
Advisor
Advisor
13,805 Views
Registered: ‎10-05-2010

Weird! Would you mind telling me the part number or markings on the MIRA part so that I can update my Atlys page?
0 Kudos
Anonymous
Not applicable
13,716 Views

Hi, Can any one inpute a simple VHDL code for write and read to ddr2 memory on atlys board?

 

Thank you

0 Kudos
asmartin
Visitor
Visitor
13,690 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2013


@joelby wrote:
Weird! Would you mind telling me the part number or markings on the MIRA part so that I can update my Atlys page?

Yes, of course.

 

Manufacturer: Deutron (Taiwan)

Model: P3R1GE4EGF (No datasheet available, but equivalent part P3R1GE4JGF)

 

Low-cost equivalent part.

 

THANKS DIGILENT.

0 Kudos
asmartin
Visitor
Visitor
13,688 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2013

DIGILENTINC (USA) recommends using ELPIDA equivalent part, but DIGILENT.ro recommends using MICRON equivalent part.

 

It's a crazy and stupid change just to increase DIGILENT benefits.

 

THANKS DIGILENT.

0 Kudos
eteam00
Professor
Professor
13,677 Views
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

FYI - Micron recently bought Elpida.  Access to Elpida datasheets had been a problem in the past, maybe less of a problem post-merger with Micron.

 

DRAM is a tricky business, and product availability is often a problem.  I would not be too quick to judge Digilent as evil or sinister.  I would not be surprised if Digilent contracts their component purchasing and board assembly, in which case a supplier made the decision to replace a Micron or Elpida component with another equivalent part.  This is done every day, and you should be able to use the original Elpida or Micron device profile to 'build' your design.

 

-- Bob Elkind

SIGNATURE:
README for newbies is here: http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/New-Users-Forum/README-first-Help-for-new-users/td-p/219369

Summary:
1. Read the manual or user guide. Have you read the manual? Can you find the manual?
2. Search the forums (and search the web) for similar topics.
3. Do not post the same question on multiple forums.
4. Do not post a new topic or question on someone else's thread, start a new thread!
5. Students: Copying code is not the same as learning to design.
6 "It does not work" is not a question which can be answered. Provide useful details (with webpage, datasheet links, please).
7. You are not charged extra fees for comments in your code.
8. I am not paid for forum posts. If I write a good post, then I have been good for nothing.
0 Kudos
piense
Visitor
Visitor
13,347 Views
Registered: ‎11-06-2013

Has anyone successfully used the MIRA part in a design? I've tried following the Atlys MIG tutorial with the recommened equivalent part from the reference manual with no luck, the timing parameters from the datasheet appear to match the core generator timing settings. I output the calibration done signal to the board's LEDs and am getting no resposne so my best guess is that the calibration isn't completing successfully but I'm at a loss of where to go from there for troubleshooting.

0 Kudos
piense
Visitor
Visitor
13,342 Views
Registered: ‎11-06-2013

So I've managed to get it working. It seems there is something wrong with the reset signal in the top file in the project from that Atlys tutorial. Once I get a slightly more useful demo working with my Atlys board I'll post my full code for anyone else who stumbles upon this thread.

0 Kudos
aliaslam
Visitor
Visitor
9,649 Views
Registered: ‎09-15-2014

Hi,

 

I am running into the same problem. The calibration signal is not goiing up. Will you tell me how you solved this issue.

Thanks in advance

 

Ali

0 Kudos
hassaniqbal
Visitor
Visitor
2,281 Views
Registered: ‎08-12-2016

Hi,

 

Please share the code so others can benefit. Thank you.

0 Kudos
hassaniqbal
Visitor
Visitor
2,085 Views
Registered: ‎08-12-2016


@sleary78 wrote:

Fixed....

 

The problem for anyone else stupid enough to hit the same problem is that the MIG defines DEBUG and the xapp495 output demo has `ifdef DEBUG statement. This causes the video to be non-functional and optimised out. Removing the debug blocks makes everything work.


Hello @sleary78,

 

Can you please share the code with me? I am trying to use MIG with XAPP495 for months now. Thanking in advance. 

0 Kudos