Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
xainalvi
Visitor
Visitor

Nexys2 writing flash issue Help

Jump to solution

Hello I am quite new to fpga.

I need to write into my Xilinx Nexys2 strata flash JS28F128 chip.

Can some1 please help me. I dont know why my code is not working.

I have attached my code. 

My testbench and the required waveform. 

1.jpg

2.png

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
chapman
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

PLEASE read the documentation more carefully. The reference design files are explained on page 19 and the green colour coding tells you which files are not included and where to obtain them. However, did you notice that a BIT file is included in the ZIP file so you can download and try the reference design immediately (to a Spartan-3E Starter Kit)? It is a fully working reference design.

Pages 23 to 26 provide an overview of how this reference design writes individual bytes or bursts of up to 32-bytes into the Flash. There are further descriptions contained within comments in the source code of the reference design. Note that ‘byte commands’ also need to be transmitted to the StrataFlash device as well as the data. Did you read what I said about hundreds of micro seconds and polling the status register? The timing of the signals during a write is only part of what has to be implemented correctly to store data in one of these devices.

Ken Chapman
Principal Engineer, Xilinx UK

View solution in original post

6 Replies
xainalvi
Visitor
Visitor

Any takers ? kinda desperate for help. 

0 Kudos
chapman
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee