UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,332 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2010

Power consumption SP605

Hello!

 

 Where I could find information about SP605 power consumption? 

 

Thank you!

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
7,330 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Power consumption SP605

is that not in the documentation ?

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,328 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2010

Re: Power consumption SP605

I found only power on Spartan 6

0 Kudos
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
7,325 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Power consumption SP605

does the user guide or the associated docs help ?

 

http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/boards_and_kits/ug526.pdf

 

at the end of the day, I guess it depends on what your doing with the board,

 

if your running the fpga and associated bits at full speed or is most of it in idle ?

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Adventurer
Adventurer
7,324 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2010

Re: Power consumption SP605

Thanks for your replies!

 

SRIO contoller is impelement in the fpga, it is occupies near 35% of the die, SRIO is Gbit protocol. But I want to know the whole power consumption of SP605 board. 

0 Kudos
Teacher drjohnsmith
Teacher
7,322 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2009

Re: Power consumption SP605

 the tools should tell you what power is to take max,

     bu tthe peripherals, 

         I guess your going to have to meassure the power taken by the board then,

 

<== If this was helpful, please feel free to give Kudos, and close if it answers your question ==>
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,300 Views
Registered: ‎09-22-2008

Re: Power consumption SP605

Power consumption is design dependent. In SP605 depends upon which reference design you loaded.

 

  • Xilinx Power Analyzer (XPA) tool which delivered along with ISE Design pack help to customer accurate power analysis after design implementation.

 

Mahesh
0 Kudos
Observer rho88
Observer
7,286 Views
Registered: ‎06-22-2011

Re: Power consumption SP605

In addition to XPA (in ISE GUI, its an option under PAR), Xilinx also provides another power tool called XPower Estimator (XPE), which can be found at www.xilinx.com/power.  With this you don't need an actual design (you can import design data with a mrp file)  and can input some estimated design parameters in order to estimate your max power.  There is a process variation that you can set to max, then just max out your usage and you should have a pretty good estimate for your total max power.  You can apply this to any part really if its supported in the power tools. 

0 Kudos
Instructor
Instructor
7,284 Views
Registered: ‎07-21-2009

Re: Power consumption SP605

@rho88

 

Given the choice between:

 

  • a power estimator which does not use the placed and routed design
  • a power analyser which does use the placed and routed design

I will have greater confidence in the results of the tool which uses the actual design for its calculations.

If you do not have a design for analysis, then there is but one choice between the two:  the estimator.

 

-- Bob Elkind

SIGNATURE:
README for newbies is here: http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/New-Users-Forum/README-first-Help-for-new-users/td-p/219369

Summary:
1. Read the manual or user guide. Have you read the manual? Can you find the manual?
2. Search the forums (and search the web) for similar topics.
3. Do not post the same question on multiple forums.
4. Do not post a new topic or question on someone else's thread, start a new thread!
5. Students: Copying code is not the same as learning to design.
6 "It does not work" is not a question which can be answered. Provide useful details (with webpage, datasheet links, please).
7. You are not charged extra fees for comments in your code.
8. I am not paid for forum posts. If I write a good post, then I have been good for nothing.
0 Kudos
Observer rho88
Observer
7,274 Views
Registered: ‎06-22-2011

Re: Power consumption SP605

I agree completely Bob, the estimator is intended to be used when you don't have a design, which is the impression I got from the OP.  With XPE though its MUCH easier to input data faster if all you want is to try and estimate maximum power for a given device.  

 

Use XPA if you want a full accurate analysis, use XPE if you want a quick estimation w/o a design file or with (yes you loose routing info, like net capacitance, but its quick and easy to use for an estimate).  

0 Kudos