UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Participant liangr
Participant

[SPARTAN6]-[SP605 Evaluation Kit ] GPIO User SMA

Jump to solution

Dear all,

I am a beginner of uing Xilinx board and I am looking for a platform to verify transceiver design.

I found SP605 may satisfy my request but I have some question concerning this evaluation board SP605.

There are 10 SMA connectors on board and according to user guide ug526.pdf figure1-2 , the USER_SMA_CLOCK_N/P (7C) and USER_SMA_GPIO_N/P (16D) are used as well. Are they bi-directional or output only?

Since the schematic has no input DC block cap, I am not sure about their direction.

And are the ports 8 (except for the reference clock), 7C and 16D support up to 3.125GHz signal?

Thank you in advance for the support!

/BR

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: [SPARTAN6]-[SP605 Evaluation Kit ] GPIO User SMA

Jump to solution

The 10 SMAs are connected to the FPGA pins, but not all FPGA pins are bi-directional.  The 4 SMAs that you referenced are connection to normal IO and can be used as either inputs or outputs.

DC block/AC coupling capacitors are not just for inputs.  PCIexpress for inputs defined their use on the transmitters.

The performance of any board is predominately determined by the silicon that is used.  In the case of SP605 the device is a XC6SLX45TFG484-3 the MGTs in this device/speed grade are capable of 3.125 Gbps operation.

------Have you tried typing your question into Google? If not you should before posting.
Too many results? Try adding site:www.xilinx.com

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee