cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor
13,524 Views
Registered: ‎01-14-2008

Spartan 3AN Starter: Impact "There are many unknown device..."

Hi,

 

I got an error while programming my "new" Spartan3an Starter Kit.

 

During initialize chain Impact is detects a lot of unknown devices and ends with the Error Message "There are many unknown devices being detected".

Have my Board a defect or is it a configuration problem?

 

Thanks  in Advance for Help.

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,504 Views
Registered: ‎08-10-2007

Hi,

If you are attempting to initialise the chain in iMPACT, and get messages similar to:

INFO:iMPACT:501 - '1': Added Device UNKNOWN successfully.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------
read count != nBytes, rc = 20000015.
read failed 20000015.
'2': : Manufacturer's ID =Unknown
INFO:iMPACT:501 - '1': Added Device UNKNOWN successfully.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------
read count != nBytes, rc = 20000015.
read failed 20000015.
'3': : Manufacturer's ID =Unknown
INFO:iMPACT:501 - '1': Added Device UNKNOWN successfully.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------

then this might indicate that there is a problem with TDO on the board.  Check to make sure that TDO on the board is not inadvertantly grounded.  If there is a problem with TDO on the board then you may have to contact your distributor to get the board replaced.

 

Another thing to check are the connections on the JTAG header, specifically the TDO pin.  Make sure that there are good connections here.

You could also try scoping the JTAG pins to make sure they are doing what is expected.


Finally, see if lowering the cable speed helps to initialise the chain correctly.

 

 

 

J.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
13,498 Views
Registered: ‎08-02-2007

Hello,

 

This happens even if you have two programming cables connected.

 

You might want to check the same.

 

Regards.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
Visitor
Visitor
13,472 Views
Registered: ‎01-14-2008

Hi,

 

many thanks for your reply.

 

I do the following things:

 

1. Scoping the tdo and tdi, this signals are not grounded

2. Checking for a second programming cable or a bad connection (I only use the USB Cable with the Onboard programmer)

3. I also try the procedure with a second pc, but the init chain doesn't work.

4. Validated the jumper position J26 (JTAG).

 

Is there a second Jumper which must have a special position? 

Have anyone further ideas to eliminating this issue?

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Visitor
Visitor
8,468 Views
Registered: ‎11-22-2011

I have the same problem,can you help me?

this is my Emal:jiangjinfeng76@163.com 

0 Kudos
Reply
Newbie
Newbie
7,698 Views
Registered: ‎03-20-2013

Dear all,

 

I was able to solve this by making sure my FPGA module board was properly inserted in its development kit base board. Of course, this is usually the last thing one thinks of when trouble shooting.

 

I am using a Spartan-6 (XC6SLX45T) which is soldered to a SO-DIMM form factor module. This module attached to a larger development kit base board which provides Ethernet and other common ports.

 

The SO-DIMM module was just slightly out of its place. This was not obvious until I pressed on the module and I noticed that I was able to push it further into the SO-DIMM connenctor. This was the last thing I tried after resetting my computer and trying various USB ports with my Xilinx Platform Cable USB II.

 

Hope this helps,

 

Carlos Mendoza

0 Kudos
Reply