cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,689 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

ZCU102 BOARD UI test failed!

I have a zcu102 board;  When i used the board to run dp demo , it didn't display with error message as below:

1st power wake-up - AUX write failed.

2nd power wake-up - AUX write failed.

then i check the schemactic , and found that gtr has combine design for pcie & dp ; 

i use  BoardUI.exe to modify MSP430 setting for dp;

it doesn't work well;

instead , i use BIT.exe to do boardtest , the test result is failed as below :

Error: Found regular expression in step 3 of test 0 - "(.*)Error(.*)"

Error: Could not find regular expression in step 3 of test 0 - "(.*)File\s+sent\s+successfully"

Info: This step started at: 2019-07-19 15:33:01

Error: Stopped because step 3 failed in test 0

step finished

Error: Could not find regular expression in step 0 of test 0 - "(.*)MSP v1.50 I2C Bridge v1.50(.*)"

Info: Result for step 0: Fail
Info: Result for step 1: Pass
Info: Result for step 2: Pass
Info: Result for step 3: Fail
Info: The test took 0 hours, 00 minutes, and 31 seconds. 0:00:31

 

my zcu102 board vertion is 1.1 , product batch is : 0432055-05-1911 

thk

 

 

0 Kudos
26 Replies
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,635 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

Hi luodicaizi,

Can you provide a screenshot of your BoardUI.exe like the one below?

To get the Right Pane, click on Layout -> and uncheck "Hide Right Pane"

BIT_tests.png

Thanks,
Andres

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,617 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

 
error.jpg
0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,616 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

 
微信图片_20190723172911.jpg
0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,614 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

 
微信图片_20190723173208.jpg
0 Kudos
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,594 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,572 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

 
1563943870(1).png
0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,569 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

cp2108 's driver is already newest!

1563943826(1).png
0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,564 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

use board UI you referd,  it still stop here!!

Starting IDCODE/FW Check at: 2019-07-24 13:03:02.635000
Starting step tcl
==========

Exception in thread Thread-2:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "threading.py", line 801, in __bootstrap_inner
File "testthread.py", line 85, in run
File "testthread.py", line 206, in runbutton
File "testthread.py", line 785, in shell
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 1-6: ordinal not in range(128)

1563944723(1).png
0 Kudos
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,538 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

It seems it doesn't even run the tcl script.

If you connect the board to Vivado Hardware Manager, does it detect it correctly?

Thanks,
Andres

 

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,526 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

It is able to connect to the board! even I can use logic analysis to debug probe ;

1564016679.png
0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,524 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Is it necessary to connect PMOD headers & connect PROTO header before do test ;

1564017056(1).png
0 Kudos
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,503 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

Hi luodicaizi84,

You don't need to connect any additional HW besides the 2 microUSB Cables.

I think there might be something related to the text strings, since your Windows OS is on a different language.

Please try these 2 things:

1) Install the 6.7.0.0 driver instead of 6.7.1.0 (even though it says it's only for Windows XP/Server 2003/Vista/7/8/8.1):
https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers

2) Go to File --> Change the Config Variables and type them yourself, like shown here:

BoardUI - change variables.PNG

and File --> Change the System Controller Port

BoardUI - system controller port.PNG

Where this is what my Device Manager looks like:

COM Ports 2.png

Let us know if that helps.

Thanks,
Andres

0 Kudos
subu.rama
Participant
Participant
3,411 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2018

I have the same issue. I have a ZCU102 Rev 1.1 and am using XTP433, Vivado, SCGUI etc. that are 2019.1

I uninstalled the newer Si drivers and installed the v6.7 as suggested.

https://www.silabs.com/products/development-tools/software/usb-to-uart-bridge-vcp-drivers

Older VCP driversOlder VCP driversHere is what device manager shows (on Windows 10):

image.png

The driver still shows up as: 6.7.4.261 dated 9/19/2016

image.png

So where is the version 6.7.0.0 of the drivers?

Also the new Board UI does NOT have fields for setting the configuration variables fpgaport0, fpgaport1 or fpgaport2.

image.png

And I get a very helpful version information in About: (1986 - Present) :-)

image.png

And of course, I can't even get the Board information.

image.png

I don't have what the 

['COM3', 'COM1', 'COM4', 'COM8', 'COM9', 'COM10'] line refers to in the right hand pane but I get it every time I choose File -> Change the Config values.

This is what Device Manager Ports (COM & LPT) section looks like.

image.png

Before XTP433, the firmware showed up as May 25 (?) 2017. After may failed attempt to upload firmware, I don't even get a response to the @ver command from tera term connected to interface 3/COM8.

So I have no idea what state the SC is in.

image.png

Vivado (2019.1) hw manager can connect to the target.image.png

So, how can I resolve these issues?

Thank you

Subu

 

 

 

0 Kudos
subu.rama
Participant
Participant
3,398 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2018

I rebooted my Windows PC and now it shows the suggested driver versioin for Si Labs UART bridge.

image.pngimage.png

However, I can neither update the firmware nor can I run Board UI.

image.png

image.png

I can connect with tera term to interface 3 and issue @ver and see a response AFTER I power cycle the board. Once Board UI runs, it seems to be in some confused state.

image.png

Thank you

Subu

0 Kudos
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,387 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

Hi subu.rama,

I wouldn't define that as a "confused state". If both the BoardUI and Tera Term try to connect to the same Serial Port, one of them won't succeed.

Please update the System Controller Firmware as explained in XTP433. You won't be able to use the latest BoardUI with the May 2017 version.

Thanks,
Andres

 

0 Kudos
subu.rama
Participant
Participant
3,382 Views
Registered: ‎07-22-2018

I understand. However, as I have mentioned in my posts, my attempts at upgrading the firmware fail.

I can't run the 2016.4 version as suggested in a xilinx answer for this older fw version of the board either. It hangs in spite of downgrading the user drivers.

I am not running teraterm and board ui at the same time. If I exit out of the failed ui test and then power cycle the board, I can connect with teraterm.

Subu

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,263 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

any update?

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,259 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Board: ZCU102_PROD
Revision: 1.0
Silicon: prod
Serial Number: 881435941911-02745
MAC Address: 00:0A:35:05:05:9A
Working in directory: ZCU102_PROD
PRESSED: Run All
Starting SYS_CTLR RESTORE at: 2019-09-03 16:15:52.891000
Starting step sysc
==========

Exception in thread Thread-2:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "threading.py", line 801, in __bootstrap_inner
File "testthread.py", line 85, in run
File "testthread.py", line 152, in runbutton
File "testthread.py", line 520, in sysc
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 1-6: ordinal not in range(128)

 

abnormal.jpg

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,235 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

Dear sir , does it has LINUX vertion software ? 

0 Kudos
luodicaizi84
Contributor
Contributor
3,234 Views
Registered: ‎10-17-2013

I disconnect USB-UART USB-JTAG cables , run the board UI software , The logging information show the same content ;

So , i'm sure the software does not wort well really!  

I install os for win 7 , win10 ;

And occured the same problem !!

0 Kudos
idmzi
Newbie
Newbie
3,132 Views
Registered: ‎08-29-2018

I am also experiencing the same error.

I tried all the solutions the engineer gave me, but the same thing happened.

It seems to be a software problem with Python.

I get the same error message on win7 and win10.

Board : VCU128 (ES)

Vivado : 2018.3, 2019.1

OS : Windows 7, Windows 10 Korean

cf. It works fine on my co-worker's HP PC, but my two PCs fail.

0 Kudos
andresb
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
3,111 Views
Registered: ‎06-21-2018

Hi idmzi,

Can you show us what the error is?

Thanks,
Andres

0 Kudos
anatoli
Moderator
Moderator
2,299 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Hello @luodicaizi84 ,

We may found the root cause of this behaviour (thanks to @suguri ). 

Please check @suguri 's reply in the similar forum topic: https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Xilinx-Evaluation-Boards/zcu102-BoardUI-Error/m-p/1127099/highlight/true#M28597

Can you please check and see if this also helps in your case? Thanks in advance.

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

If starting with Versal, take a look at our Versal Design Process Hub and our
Versal Blogs

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
hht238000
Observer
Observer
1,742 Views
Registered: ‎08-03-2020

hi, @anatoli ,

I followed the topic https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Xilinx-Evaluation-Boards/ZCU102-BOARD-UI-test-failed/m-p/998036#M23322 ,but I still can solve the error:

QQ截图20201120150522.png

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
hht238000
Observer
Observer
1,741 Views
Registered: ‎08-03-2020

Snipaste_2020-11-21_18-28-54.png

0 Kudos
anatoli
Moderator
Moderator
1,612 Views
Registered: ‎06-14-2010

Hello @hht238000 ,

Seems like you've raise the same question in a few posts.

I've provided you some other suggestion in your new post here:

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Xilinx-Evaluation-Boards/zcu102-board-ui-error/td-p/1176508

Please try this out, and respond within that post, to avoid duplicate posts/work.

Hope this helps.

Kind Regards,
Anatoli Curran,
Xilinx Technical Support
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.

If starting with Versal, take a look at our Versal Design Process Hub and our
Versal Blogs

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos