UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

Read/Write memory with AXI master

Observer

Read/Write memory with AXI master

Hi All,

i'm an italian student working on the ZedBoard Zynq-7000. 

My goal, for now, is to create a custom IP that reads some data from DDR/BRAM and writes this data to another location in the BRAM.

Since now, i've created a simple IP using vivado HLS, that creates two AXI master interfaces, one for the reads and one for the writes. Afterwards i've created a design in Vivado design suite, that i've attacched in the post. after that i've created a simple bare metal application for trying this design. This application creates a 320x240 matrix (the dimension of data that i need to transfer) in the DDR and try to copy this data to BRAM, but the data  are not transfered. 

I've searched for online solutions but i have not found anything that could help me, so i ask for help here, since my work is stopped right now. 

I attach the vivado HLS code for the IP, the vivado design and the c application to run on the board.

Highlighted
Xilinx Employee

Re: Read/Write memory with AXI master

Hi @anto95,

This is not using HLS and this is not accessing the DDR memory (but the OCM) but you can have a look to this wiki page I have written last month:

http://www.wiki.xilinx.com/Zynq-7000+AP+SoC+-+Read+and+Write+to+the+Zynq+OCM+from+The+PL

The IP is doing write/read-back into the OCM memory of the zynq. You can change a bit the code of the IP to read and then write data. And then just change the address to point to the DDR.

Hope that helps,

Regards,

Florent

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------