cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
794 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019

PS_Error_out

Jump to solution

Using a Zynq ultrascale, on power up I have a PS_ERROR_Out.  The PMU global register values are:

0xFFD80530  0x00000000

0xFFD8040    0x01000000

 

I also have:  PSU - RPU - Reset

                               APU- No Power

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
555 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019

Cause of issue ended up being power supply sequencing.   If PS_POR_B was brought momentarily low after all the power was up, the PS_ERROR_OUT extinguished and the error codes cleared.  Now we are charing the DDR4 calibration.

View solution in original post

8 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
705 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

 

Bit 24 of Error_Status_2 is the PMU_SERVCE bit.  It looks like you have a PMU interrupt that is not getting serviced.  This is often caused by not having GPI signlas properly terminated

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
698 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019

What about the APU - No power?

We also have FPD - No Power,  is this a result of the possible PMU interrupt issue?

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
695 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

Are you providing APU power?  Do you have any PMU GPIs defined in Vivado?   If you do and they are not terminated on your board they can trigger an interrupt before the PMUFW is loaded - that is the normal cause of this error.   What board are you using?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
689 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019
It is a custom derivative of the AVNET SOM. Unfortunately, We do not know how to define the PMU GPI's in Vivado, can you supply a reference ?
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
680 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

This are defined in the PCW (Processor Configuration Wizard) in Vivado.  In the I/O Configuration tab, check what you have enabled under PMU.  AR66436 shows a screenshot and discusses some aspects of PMU interrupts.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
652 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019

pmu_cfg_2.png

 

The PMU box is unchecked.  when checked, we get this:

In our design, MIO 26 - 31 and MIO34 - 37 are floating.

 

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
588 Views
Registered: ‎03-19-2014

What is in your bif?   You could check the PMU IRQ_PENDING register (0xFFD40034) that should tell you what interrupt is triggering.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
556 Views
Registered: ‎06-20-2019

Cause of issue ended up being power supply sequencing.   If PS_POR_B was brought momentarily low after all the power was up, the PS_ERROR_OUT extinguished and the error codes cleared.  Now we are charing the DDR4 calibration.

View solution in original post