cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,964 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

System Generator 'OpenFcn' error

Jump to solution

Dear all,

I have a problem that I'm experiencing with System Generator, below I bring you my HW / SW configuration:


• HP Z4G4 Workstation, Intel Xeon W-2123 3.60 GHz Processor, 16 GB RAM, NVIDIA Quadro P2000 Video Card
• Linux RedHat Enterprise Linux Workstation 7.4
• Xilinx Vivado HLS System Edition 2018.1
• Matlab R2018a and R2017b

 

Practically when I launch System Generator (<vivado folder> / bin / sysgen) Matlab opens correctly but when I try to open any System Generator project (even a Xilinx demo) it takes a lot to open the model and on the Matlab command window I get the following message:

 

Warning: The GUI System Generator socket server timedout while waiting for an incoming socket connection. To tune the acceptTimeout value in the xlServerSocketOptions.m file. The xlServerSocketOptions.m file is on your MATLAB path and can be edited by typing 'edit xlServerSocketOptions.m' in the MATLAB console.

 

Once the model is open (the test I did with the example Reloadable FIR Filter but with another demo is the same thing), if I try to enter the configuration of a Xilinx block, the tool remains for a long time waiting and, at the end, it gives me an error window with the following message:

 

Error evaluating 'OpenFcn' callback of Xilinx FIR Compiler 7.2 Block block (mask) 'sysgenReloadable / FIR Compiler 7.2'. Callback string is 'xlOpenGui (gcbh,' fir_compiler_v7_2_gui.xml ', @xlipmagiccallback_pass_evaluate_params, @ fir_compiler_v7_2_action)'
Error using xlNMIProxy Timed out waiting for a response from GUI to: (12.0001) buildGUI DISPLAY ENV = ": 0" timeout value = 180.0005

 

The test described I did it with both Matlab R2018a and R2017b.


I know that Vivado 2018.2 is out but, due to incompatibility with the other tools I use, I can not install it.

 

Can you help me ?


Thank you in advance.

Best regards,
Andrea

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,762 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

@andreac_avnet

 

One of the customers finally solved the same problem by using the desktop environment KDE (instead of Gnome).

 

Can you check it as well.


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...

View solution in original post

24 Replies
nathanx
Moderator
Moderator
4,912 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2007

This is due to incompatible Matlab version - R2018a and some issues in installing Vivado. This may be a network installation and some environment variable may need to set.

andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,897 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

dear @nathanx,

We tried to use a official supported version (referring to https://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/55830.html ):

 

Vivado System Generator for DSP 2018.1:

Operating System Support:

  • Windows 7 SP1 Professional (64-bit), English/Japanese.
  • Windows 10 Professional (64-bit), English/Japanese.
  • Red Hat Enterprise Workstation/Server 7.2 and 7.3 (64-bit)
  • Red Hat Enterprise Workstation 6.6, 6.7, 6.8 and 6.9 (64-bit)
  • SUSE Linux Enterprise 11.4 and 12.3 (64-bit)
  • Cent OS 7.2 , 7.3 and 7.4 (64-bit)
  • Cent OS 6.7, 6.8 and 6.9 (64-bit)
  • Ubuntu Linux 16.04.3 LTS (64-bit)

Required:

  • Vivado Design Suite 2018.1 System Edition
  • Supported MATLAB Versions: 2017a and 2017b from MathWorks (requires Fixed-Point Designer for bus-widths greater than 53 bits)

Even with Vivado 2018.2 and trying with MATLAB 2017b, 2018a and 2018b  but nothing changed.

 

Best regards,
Andrea

0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,892 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Can you open the matlab (or sysgen) through terminal.  If yes, will you try the below steps and then open the design, 

1. Download the Matlab license file and save it. 

2. Run the below command,      

      $ sysgen -c <location of Matlab-license>


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,890 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018
What should I get with this steps ?

Do you think that is there a problem with the license ?

Regards,
Andrea
0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,889 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018
Not sure, as we did not face this problem before. But, we have seen other problems which are solved by pointing to license manually.

/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,886 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018
Ok, I'll try it asap.

Thank you in advance @meherp.
I'll let you know if the problem is resolved.

Best regards,
Andrea
0 Kudos
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,870 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Dear @meherp and @nathanx,

I did the test with Vivado 2018.2 and MATLAB R2018a both with the license file downloaded during the installation of MATLAB and with a new downloaded file from the Mathworks website but the result is identical.

 

What should I try next ?

 

Best regards,

Andrea

 

0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,865 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

quick question: what is the meaning of "configuration of a block Xilinx"?

Does this mean that 'double clicking on System Generator token (red color)' or something else?

 

 


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,861 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018
Currently I am using Vivado 2018.2 and Matlab R2018a. It's working fine.

Try this as well, which resolved a similar problem,

* Open the System Generator Configurator:
* Remove Matlab R2018a so that it's no longer configured and close it.
* Relaunch System Generator Configurator
* Mark Matlab R2018a as configured


Source : (https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/DSP-IP-and-Tools/Sysgen-2018-2-and-Matlab-R2018A-are-seemingly-NOT-compatible/td-p/890840)

/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,864 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018
Are you using Linux or a different OS ?

Best regards,
Andrea
0 Kudos
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,853 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Dear @meherp,

Quick question:

 

From the user manual of System Generator I realized that, under linux,

I have to put in the environment variable PATH the path of the bin folder of the version of MATLAB that you intend to use.

Then I have to run the "sysgen" command from the <Vivado_install_dir> / bin folder (page 14 of UG897).
Is my way of proceeding correct?

 

Best regards,
Andrea

0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,848 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

I tried it on both Windows-10 and Red Hat Linux. It is working fine on both the OS.


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,842 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018
I will recheck the settings, but it seems to be correct as we can open the Matlab using sysgen command.

You mentioned in the post "if I try to enter the configuration of a Xilinx block, the tool remains for a long time waiting and, at the end, it gives me an error window with the following message".

What is the meaning of "configuration of a Xilinx block" in the above line.

/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,819 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Dear @meherp,

The customer means that he just double click on the block and it should open the configuration window.

(attached you will find the example "FIR compiler" )

 

He didn't know that there was a configurator on Linux.

How can he opens it ?

 

Furthermore the link you gave us before:

https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/DSP-IP-and-Tools/Sysgen-2018-2-and-Matlab-R2018A-are-seemingly-NOT-compatible/td-p/890840

Refers to Windows 10 OS not Linux Red Hat.

 

The customer screenshotted every step just to clarify how he ended up with that problem:

1. Configuration of environment variables

2. Launch System Generator

3. Matlab Prompt, then I load the examples by clicking on "demo blockset xilinx"

4. Select "Preloadable FIR Filter"

5. Click on "Open this model"

 

I'll continue this in the next reply to attach more images.

 

FIR compiler.png
Step 1.png
Step 2.png
Step 3.png
Step 4.png
Step 5.png
0 Kudos
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,818 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

6. After about a minute of waiting on the command window, the message "Warning: The System Generator GUI socket server timedout" appears while waiting for an incoming socket connection. To tune the acceptTimeout value in the xlServerSocketOptions.m file. The xlServerSocketOptions.m file is on your MATLAB path and can be edited by typing 'edit xlServerSocketOptions.m' in the MATLAB console. "

7. After about 10 seconds, finally the model opens, I double-click on the FIR Compiler 7.2 block and I wait ...

 

 

END - 8. After about 3 minutes the error window appears with the message:
"Error evaluating 'OpenFcn' callback of Xilinx FIR Compiler 7.2 Block block (mask) 'sysgenReloadable / FIR Compiler 7.2'. Callback string is 'xlOpenGui (gcbh,' fir_compiler_v7_2_gui.xml ', @xlipmagiccallback_pass_evaluate_params, @ fir_compiler_v7_2_action)'
Error using xlNMIProxy Timed out waiting for a response from GUI to: (12.0001) buildGUI DISPLAY ENV = ": 0" timeout value = 180.0005 "

Attached I have listed the complete list of installed packages, to this important must be added the driver of the graphics card (NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-390.87).

 

 

I'm waiting for help, the customer is blocked here.

 

Best regards,
Andrea

Step 6.png
Step 7.png
0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,806 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Thanks for the snapshots. The below warning should not appear,

    Warning: The Sysgen Generator GUI socket server timeout while waiting for an incoming socket connection.

 

Please check this as well,

1. Try to run sysgen as administer $ sudo sysgen  (as matlab in opt folder).

 

2. If not work, please try this as well,

https://in.mathworks.com/matlabcentral/answers/334889-can-t-install-any-toolboxes-because-can-t-write-to-usr-local-matlab-r2017

 

3. Also, please perform the post installation task described at page 14 of UG897 (to add sysgen on Matlab).


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
Screenshot_1.jpg
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,792 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Dear @meherp,

Here're the answers from the customer.

 

1. It's not good for me, because using sudo I would start Matlab as root user but my Matlab license is linked to the username (which is not root in the license) so does not part Matlab.


2. Done, but with a negative result.


3. The compilation of the libraries still do so because we still have the licenses. This should not be blocking if I do not simulate HDL code generated, for me now I just simulate it only in Simulink.

 

How do we proceed now?

 

Best regards,
Andrea

 

0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,775 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

Warning message indicates either the java runtime is not loaded or some problem with QT path.

FYI: Sysgen block uses QT based GUI for its customization.

 

Can you please try to check it (or reinstall it)?


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...
andreac_avnet
Explorer
Explorer
4,768 Views
Registered: ‎05-03-2018

Dear @meherp,

If I open a terminal and launch java -version I have the following info:

 

openjdk version "1.8.0_161"
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_161-b14)
OpenJDK 64-Bit VM Server (build 25.161-b14, mixed mode)

 

 

I have not installed any additional Java Runtime beyond the expected basic RHEL 7.4 also because the UG973 is not even mentioned.


Moreover Vivado in the installation brings his JRE in:

 

<Vivado_inst_dir> / tps / lnx64 / jre

And also MATLAB has its jre in:

<MATLAB_inst_dir> / sys / java / jre / glnxa64 / jre / bin

 

About the Qt libraries, what should I check / install?

 

Best regards,
Andrea

0 Kudos
meherp
Moderator
Moderator
4,763 Views
Registered: ‎08-16-2018

@andreac_avnet

 

One of the customers finally solved the same problem by using the desktop environment KDE (instead of Gnome).

 

Can you check it as well.


/ 7\7     Meher Krishna Patel, PhD
\ \        Senior Product Application Engineer, Xilinx
/ /        
\_\/\7   It is not so much that you are within the cosmos as that the cosmos is within you...

View solution in original post

g00ber
Newbie
Newbie
3,038 Views
Registered: ‎05-18-2018

We have the same issue with R2018a and Vivado 2018.3 on CentOS 7.

Warning: The System Generator GUI socket server timedout while waiting for an incoming socket connection. To tune the acceptTimeout value in the xlServerSocketOptions.m file. The xlServerSocketOptions.m file is on your MATLAB path and can be edited by typing 'edit xlServerSocketOptions.m' in the MATLAB console.

This is for Xilinx demo Simulink design with sysgen blockset.

0 Kudos
g00ber
Newbie
Newbie
3,006 Views
Registered: ‎05-18-2018

@meherp 

 

Switching to KDE did fix our issue too.  Thank you so much.  I do not understand the relationship, but I'll use KDE over GNOME if sysgen code generator works.

 

Matt

talon
Observer
Observer
1,815 Views
Registered: ‎02-05-2019

I am using PopOS 18.04 LTS with MATLAB 2019a and Vivado 2019.1 and switching to a KDE fixed this issue for me too.

omkarviv
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
788 Views
Registered: ‎09-21-2018

Hi user,

Here is one of the way to diagnose and fix this problem which I validated with Vivado 2020.2 and MATLAB R2020b.
1. Go to the Vivado installation path as shown here:

cd /opt/Xilinx/Vivado/2020.2/bin/unwrapped/lnx64.o

2.  Verify the libraries are linked by entering the command:
ldd sysgensockgui
3. Check the four libraries are linked in the output displayed for the above command: libQtCore.so.4, libQtGui.so.4, libQtNetwork.so.4, and libQtXml.so.4
4.  If it is not linked, then install QT4 libraries with following command (Ubuntu 18.04):
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install qt4-default
5. After installation check again the the libraries are linked by following point 2. It should be set now.
6. Restart the MATLAB, Open the design and now try to double click on the block and it should open the configuration window.

You can also refer following link for more information: https://forums.xilinx.com/t5/AI-Engine-DSP-IP-and-Tools/Sysgen2020-Block-Property-Timeout/m-p/1209348/emcs_t/S2h8ZW1haWx8Ym9hcmRfc3Vic2NyaXB0aW9ufEtMRzhHVTQ3S09JMDcwfDEyMDkzNDh8U1VCU0NSSVBUSU9OU3xoSw#M12920 

I hope this answers your question. If so, feel free to mark as a solution and give a kudo!

Thanks and Regards,

Omkar Vivek Bhat

0 Kudos