Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

floating point operator

Hi,

I'm brand new to FPGA's and VHDL, so I'm probably asking some silly questions, but anyways...I'm working on a project to synthesize some signals (a 90Hz + 150Hz wave with varying amplitude) with a relatively high accuracy (16 bits).  These signals will then be sent to an upconverting DAC to achieve AM-LC modulation in the neighborhood of 108MHz.  I'm using a DDS block to generate the 90Hz and 150Hz wave, and then I need to multiply them by some value and eventually add the two waves together.

I figured (perhaps incorrectly) to use the floating point operator core on the DDS outputs, do all my operations (some adds and multiplies) in floating point using the core, and then when I'm ready to go to the DAC, convert the floating point to 16 bit and take my truncation hit there rather than distributing it across multiple operations.  Now my question relates to the floating point core (v3.0).  It specifies that the latency (defined as the number of cycles between an operand input and result output) can be defined between 0 and some maximum number depending on the operation.  Additionally, it seems to use far less FPGA logic if I specify 0 latency than using the maximum latency.  Is this backwards?  Furthermore, why would I want latency as I think that would require me to do more complicated handshaking between cores to ensure everything arrives at the right time?

Again, I apologize if I'm being naive, and certainly if anyone has a better suggestion for anything, you won't hurt my feelings.

Thanks,

Sean
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer