cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
ali_flt
Contributor
Contributor

Vitis AI implementation of RNN-based models (quantization)

Hi,

I am starting a project in which I want to implement the DeepSpeech 2 neural network on ZCU104 using Vitis AI Runtime (VART) flow. 
I am planing to use the pytorch implementation of this network here and after reading the model structure I've noticed that an important part of this network is a RNN (simple RNN or GRU). But there is a part in the Vitis AI User Guide documentation page 67 saying "The model to be quantized should include forward method only.".

So I wanted to know if that means I cannot quantize DeepSpeech 2 using VAI quantizer. If yes, what possible solutions do you have for this issue? And if not, what does this limitation refer to?

Also: I'm very new to Vitis AI and could really appreciate any suggestion / recommendations through any step of VART workflow.

Many Thanks,
Ali

3 Replies
chaoz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

@ali_flt 

Please refer to RNN quantizer in this link,

https://github.com/Xilinx/Vitis-AI/tree/master/tools/RNN

Hope it helps.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to "Accept as solution" or "Kudo" if it helps. Thanks!
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

0 Kudos
ali_flt
Contributor
Contributor

@chaoz

Thank you for your reply, 
I've already read this documentation but I didn't find any suggestions for RNN implementation on MPSoCs. So I just wanted to make sure if there is no way of efficiently implementing RNNs on DPUv2 at the moment, so I can decided whether or not I need to change my target hardware. 
Thanks,
Ali

chaoz
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee