cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
7,235 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2014

What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

What may be the Ambient Temperature (Operating range) of Spartan-3 family. I found Tj in family sheet for commercial and Industrial cases. Is Ambient and Junction Temperature are same for this family.

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,231 Views
Registered: ‎02-06-2013

Re: What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

Hi

 

Have a look at the below link

 

http://forums.xilinx.com/t5/Spartan-Family-FPGAs/FPGA-in-High-Temperature-Environment/td-p/136502

Regards,

Satish

--------------------------------------------------​--------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
--------------------------------------------------​-------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,229 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

Hi,

 

 

There is a θJA value using which you can calculate the Ambient temperature from the Junction temperature. The values at different Air flows canbe found from the link Pg 130 - http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/data_sheets/ds099.pdf

 

From these values based on the difference you can calculate the temperature in the ambient environment.

Thanks,
Anirudh

PS: Please MARK this as an answer in case it helped resolve your query.Give kudos in case the post guided you to a solution.
0 Kudos
Highlighted
7,220 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2014

Re: What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

Thank you for your quick response. I understood.

 

Yes i can get Ta from  P=(Tj-Ta)/ θja. But as i need to get  Max value of Ta corresponding to Max Tj (Operating), i must use the Power value calculated using Max Ta, Max Tj. Can i get this from Power Estimator tool.

 

Note:

I didn't get Power Estimator tool for Spartan-II family. For this family also, i need Power and using which i can find Max.Ta

 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
7,217 Views
Registered: ‎07-31-2012

Re: What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

Hi,

 

Yes, we can use the Power values from the XPE to use in this formula to calculate the Ta. 


All the XPE excel sheets can be found from the link - http://www.xilinx.com/products/design_tools/logic_design/xpe.htm

 

The virtex-II power estimators were web based http://www.xilinx.com/support/techsup/powerest/ . There were no XPE for spartan-ii i guess.

 

They appear to have been effectively removed in the website cleanup/reorg. 

 

However we do not have the XPE spread sheets for the Spartan-ii device. I guess you can use the XPA (Xilinx Power Analyze) which can give you the post implementation power analysis. Check if  the ISE tool's have the XPA analyzer for the Virtex-II devices.

Thanks,
Anirudh

PS: Please MARK this as an answer in case it helped resolve your query.Give kudos in case the post guided you to a solution.
Highlighted
7,214 Views
Registered: ‎01-08-2014

Re: What is Operating Temperature range (Ambient) for Spartan-3 Family

Hi, Thank You for your help

So do u mean that Power in XPE is calculated is calculated using Max value of Ta & Tj.

Where can i get XPA and what is ISE tool? can you please help me on this.
0 Kudos