UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor blks303
Visitor

OFDM modulator

Jump to solution

Hi everyone!
I'm new to FPGA so be patient please.

I,m trying to implement an OFDM modulator applicable to many standards, for example DVB-T, WiMAX and Wifi.

I used the Core generator to generate an IFFT pipelined with configurable transform length and one channel.
For the 2k mode of the dvb-t standard I need a 2048 IFFT.
But just before IFFT and after TPS and pilots insertion I have 1704 sub-carriers.
If I understood well, I should associate those 1704 sub carriers from N=172 to N=1876 inputs of the IFFT and put zeros to the rest.
Do you have any idea how can I do that?

Also I would like to ask you about some the parameters of the core generator since I can't find any information in the DVB standard paper.
should I choose scaled or Unscaled in scaling options?
What about the rounding modes?

thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Voyager
Voyager

Re: OFDM modulator

Jump to solution

Hi blks303,

> So you are suggesting me using a simple Dual port RAM, writing to port A and reading from the port B right ?

Yes, what could be simpler ?

> Should I also implement a counterthat counts from zero to 1704, for addressing port A ?

Yes, 0-1704 for data, 1705-2047 to write "Zero Data".

> why should i use the XK_INDEX and not the XN_INDEX ?  I don't really understand what are those outputs doing...

Sorry, sorry I was wrong, use XN_INDEX for address read of data input from Dual Port RAM plus offset DC (2K = 852).

> At the end i have to write only 1704 cells but i must read 2048! should i use different clocks for writing and reading ?