cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Scholar
Scholar
425 Views
Registered: ‎12-07-2018

Block Design Pinning Doesn't Lock Down Placement

Jump to solution

Hello, I've tried usign the "Pin" feature in the Block Design on my modules and ports to lock down the placement of things but it still changes things. What could I be doing wrong? Is there another know I need to fiddle with?

 

Thanks,

Joe

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
396 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

@joe306 

 

Do you see the pin symbol on the BD cells? 

image.png

 

Share the snapshots which shows the location gets changed even after pinnning. 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug994-vivado-ip-subsystems.pdf#page=69 

 

--Syed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

2 Replies
Highlighted
Moderator
Moderator
397 Views
Registered: ‎01-16-2013

@joe306 

 

Do you see the pin symbol on the BD cells? 

image.png

 

Share the snapshots which shows the location gets changed even after pinnning. 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug994-vivado-ip-subsystems.pdf#page=69 

 

--Syed

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.

Did you check our new quick reference timing closure guide (UG1292)?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
348 Views
Registered: ‎09-25-2007

Pinning affects "Regenerate" and "Optimize"  features available from toolbar..

While doing other operations like adding new IPs or applying block/conneciton automation, all existing IP block locations are presevered i.e. All the blocks location are "pinned" while doing all operations except "Regenerate" and "Optimize Routing"

If you don't see pinning while doing "Regenerate" or "Optimize" , pleave provide a testcase.

 

0 Kudos