cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,342 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Open Project -> Registering IP

Running into an issue with opening projects in Vivado 2018.2. One of the IP cores I am using takes 15 minutes to get through the "Registering IP" part of opening a project. I've regenerated the core from just an XCI file, but nothing seems to help. I even regenerated the whole project from just the XPR file because that has fixed the odd corruption in the past.  The core is a 10G/25G Ethernet Subsystem, version 2.4.

It was really bad today because I had a bug somewhere that would cause Vivado to just shut off with no error message or indicator, so I had to keep reloading the project with a 15 minute wait each time as I tried to find the bug.

  1. What exactly is Vivado doing with the registering IP step when opening a project?
  2. Why does it need to do it every single time, even if no changes were made to the IP?
  3. Can I open a project and skip this step?
  4. Any suggestion on what to look for in troubleshooting this issue? Is Vivado looking for something that's not there?

Using a different version of Vivado is not an option at this time, and I'm stuck using this core as it is. Other people using the same core do not experience this issue. Tried different Linux machines. Nothing helps. It just seems to not like me. :-\

0 Kudos
16 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
1,291 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

Hi @mjholmes99 ,

As you have mentioned 'Other people using the same core do not experience this issue', in that case, this seems to be dependent on your design.

Have you tried checking if same issue shows up even when you try to reload example design for 10G/25G Ethernet Subsystem?

Regards,
Ashish
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.
Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,272 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

If I add the core to a fresh project, it gets through the open project process quickly. I dug around more and found others who have experienced this hanging of the "registering ip" process on random cores here and there. It's a core we share in a repo, so I don't have the example design. I could try to regenerate that.

My design compiles and works in hardware. That tells me my code and the core are both fine. That's why I'm looking for some transparency into what the registering ip process is doing. If it's just looking at each IP to see everything is where it needs to be, my surrounding code should not affect that process. Or if it is, then how? It just hangs without any feedback to work with. Nothing in any log file I can find. Where's the hidden variable?

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,261 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I appear to have fixed it, but I'm not sure why.

It was taking longer to open the project this morning, so I opened the XPR file in a text editor and nuked the entry for the IP core. Project opens fine and squawks that the core is missing because there's OOC runs. I re-add the core, and now the project opens fine. It zips right through the registering process.

I did a delete and reimport of the core previously from within Vivado and that didn't work. No idea why editing the project XML would do anything different.

Is it bad form to accept my own solution if I don't know why it worked? :)

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,168 Views
Registered: ‎08-07-2008

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

And it's happening again. :( I had a couple quick project opens Friday after doing the "fix" described above, and generated a successful BIT file. Got in this morning, opened the project, and it's hung registering that same 10 GbE core again. Ten minutes and counting as I type this. 

I don't know how to fix this. I have zero visibility into what Vivado is doing during that long pause. Something happens after the core is imported into the project and the design is run through at least synthesis. After that, it hangs for a long time when "registering" at opening the project. It's almost like it's regenerating the core and its various files everytime the project opens.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
1,020 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I also have this problem on Vivado 2019.1 with the CMAC 100 G core.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
980 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I'm seeing the same issue with 2018.2. It's extremely frustrating. As far as I can tell vivado is using no CPU, and I have massive memory and IO bandwidth on all our machines, not that any of it appears to be used while this lengthy delay is occuring.

Xilinx folks, has a resolution to this problem been found? Is vivado calling home via webtalk by any chance?

Thanks,

Stacey

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor
871 Views
Registered: ‎12-19-2016

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I have noticed that the console output gives me the following syslogd message:

kernel:NMI watch: BUG: soft lockup - CPU# stuck for 22s! [vivado: ######]

Any ideas? This is really hurting me - it happens every time I try to load the project.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
825 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

Similarly at the start of both synthesis and implementation there's a prolonged delay where nothing appears to be happening for about 30 minutes...so an hour total.

This is what was in the implementation log window. First an 11m 14sec delay while add_files was executed, then the 20 or so minute delay with this displayed.

vivado-30-minute-wait.png

No implementation logfile updates occur until about 20 minutes later when I finally see:

Command: link_design -top ourprojectgoeshere -part xcvu9p-flga2104-2L-e

Any help appreciated. There's only so many hours in the day.

Stacey

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Observer
Observer
725 Views
Registered: ‎01-01-2016

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

The same thing happened to me (and many people in our lab.) It was fine 30 minutes ago, and suddenly no one can open the Vivado project because it is stuck at "Registering IP".

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
681 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

Sounds like an issue for sure but we can't fix old versions of the tool.  Can you not use the core container?  That would the XCIX.  Then there is no need to regeneratre anything.  The whole IP is available.  I know some people have an issue with core container because it is a binary file.  But you can pull the XCI out of the core container.  That makes it quite a bit easier to use core container because you have a text representation of your binary XCIX file.

You do this with the following command: set_property  coreContainer.alwaysCreateXCI  1  [current_project]

Then you have a bit easier way to check in an IP into revision control.  It is 2 files.  A text based settings file that shows what your IP looks like.  And a binary file that has all the guts of your IP which saves lots of time on generation and implementation.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Adventurer
Adventurer
617 Views
Registered: ‎04-27-2011

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

Core containers have multiple problems, not the least is when the tools modify the file without explicit user intervention, resulting in merge conflicts in a binary file when we have many people working on a project.

Also, it's unclear that core containers will solve this problem. The IP is already generated, I can see numerous cached files sitting in folders created by the tools that match the IP names. This problem occurs when opening an already built project, and I don't see any IP generation occuring on the CPU during that time.

The message preceding the lengthy delay is "Registering IP", not "regenerating IP".

Is this issue fixed in the most recent version of Vivado?

Stacey

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
592 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

Using the XCI outside of the XCIX helps a bit in that you can track differences of the core with just the XCI (text file), but yes you must check in the bulky XCIX with it.

Benefits in this way is that you can track changes, you have an ability to upgrade Vivado without forcing an uprade of the IP (that is the biggest benefit and often biggest problem people face with checking in minimal files for IP).

I know it is not a perfect solution all around but it does solve some big revision control challenges.  

0 Kudos
Highlighted
390 Views
Registered: ‎01-17-2019

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

here it's solved by removing double-entry of licence for the same module.

"xxv_eth_mac_pcs" check whether it's presently more than 1 in the licence manager.

if its more than one time just remove that entry in the licence file and restart the licence manager(licence Server side).

0 Kudos
Highlighted
347 Views
Registered: ‎02-23-2020

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I have the same issue when opening a project: it sits there "registering IP" for many minutes. This is with 2019.2, the core that it's waiting on is the MIPI core.

Xilinx: could you please answer the question: what exactly is it trying to do when it's "registering" the IP?

I have tried removing duplicate licenses etc and nothing seems to change. It's impossible to find what is causing the issue if we don't know what is causing it!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
305 Views
Registered: ‎10-01-2007

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

@peterw_cuvos In general, registering IP should be fast.  If there is a lot of design runs, Vivado spends a lot of time looking into the various run directories for status on IP runs.   I am curious if you clean out your run directory what happens.

If you see a long time on registering IP without a run directory . . . I would say that is a bug worth looking at.  But we would need a test case to reproduce and work on.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Participant
Participant
216 Views
Registered: ‎12-04-2017

Re: Open Project -> Registering IP

I've also experienced this happening. It usually occurs when I'm having a slow internet connection with VPN to where the license server is located, but have also seen it happening on-site. It is usually solved by disconnecting from the internet, and then reopening the project. Then it is very fast and nice.
0 Kudos