cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Xilinx 11.1 does not support TWB.... then how do I make Test Bench easily??

Jump to solution

I used Xilinx 10.1 instead of ModelSim

Because it was not only much more stable, easy to use than ModelSim but also support TBW....

It was pretty easy to make testbench file with just some clicks...

(My friend who use ModelSim make testbench files with every keyboard input...)

But after upgrade to 11.1, It's manual says they does not support TWB files any more.

So that means..... Is there no way to make testbench without any keyboard input??

(Ah... maybe one solution will be... downgrade to 10.1-_-;;)

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Historian
Historian

armed23ogm wrote:
I am curious about this too.  I am just starting out in FPGA's and was a little confused on how to create a Test Bench.

Professional users do NOT create test benches with a waveform display that just toggles a couple of signals.

A real test bench will include bus-functional (and if necessary, timing) models of the peripherals to which the FPGA connects. For example, say you have a system with an ADC with SPI serial port, your FPGA doing some processing, and a DAC with some sort of digital interface.

The bad way of testing your FPGA's processing would have your test bench toggle the SPI data bits, bit-banging essentially, and looking at the output waveform created by your processor.

The correct way of doing this would be to create an ADC model that generates known test data (say, a counter), serializes it in SPI format so the FPGA can easily accept the data. Your DAC model could accept the data over the FPGA-to-DAC interface, validate that the data were transmitted correctly (meets set-up and hold time, clock time, etc), and then if you know the expected results of your FPGA processing, your DAC model could compare expected against actual and tell you if you pass or fail.