cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
15,440 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

NgdBuild: 604 when adding HWICAP

Jump to solution

Hi guys,

 

I'm trying to reconfigure a Virtex-5 FPGA using the embedded PowerPC. I'm using ISE13.1. My design was sythesizing well, until I added the HWICAP IP core to the PowerPC. Now I'm getting the following errors:

 

ERROR:NgdBuild:604 - logical block
   'Inst_PowerPC/xps_hwicap_0/xps_hwicap_0/HWICAP_CTRL_I/IPIC_IF_I/WRDATA_FIFO_I
   /USE_2N_DEPTH.V5_AND_EARLIER.I_ASYNC_FIFO_BRAM' with type
   'xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_1' could not be resolved. A pin
   name misspelling can cause this, a missing edif or ngc file, case mismatch
   between the block name and the edif or ngc file name, or the misspelling of a
   type name. Symbol 'xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_1' is not
   supported in target 'virtex5'.


ERROR:NgdBuild:604 - logical block
   'Inst_PowerPC/xps_hwicap_0/xps_hwicap_0/HWICAP_CTRL_I/IPIC_IF_I/RDDATA_FIFO_I
   /USE_2N_DEPTH.V5_AND_EARLIER.I_ASYNC_FIFO_BRAM' with type
   'xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_2' could not be resolved. A pin
   name misspelling can cause this, a missing edif or ngc file, case mismatch
   between the block name and the edif or ngc file name, or the misspelling of a
   type name. Symbol 'xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_2' is not
   supported in target 'virtex5'.

 

What could be the cause of this? From the errors I understand that the netlist for HWICAP is unavailable (??). Is this because the HWICAP IP core I'm using is developed for a Virtex-6 and newer FPGA? Is there any way to solve this?

 

Thanks!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
22,860 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2008

Rikus,

 

This message indicates that an instance of type "xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_1" (or _2) cannot be found.  The tool is looking for a netlist or library element of that name.  (The latter is the reason the statement "not supported in target 'virtex5'." is issued.)  These are not the library primitives (ICAP_VIRTEX5 is), these are the netlists that should have been created by a core generation tool such as EDK.

 

Can you verify that there are netlists with these names in your project, and that ngdbuild can find them -- either by placing them in the project directory or by using the -sd switch?

 

thanks,

david.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
15,417 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

After some investigation, it seems like my original hypothesis was wrong. The datasheet for the LogiCORE IP XPS HWICAP clearly states that the supported device family includes the Virtex-5. So, now i have no idea what the cause could be. Anyone have any suggestions?

 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
22,861 Views
Registered: ‎11-17-2008

Rikus,

 

This message indicates that an instance of type "xps_hwicap_0_wrapper_fifo_generator_v4_3_1" (or _2) cannot be found.  The tool is looking for a netlist or library element of that name.  (The latter is the reason the statement "not supported in target 'virtex5'." is issued.)  These are not the library primitives (ICAP_VIRTEX5 is), these are the netlists that should have been created by a core generation tool such as EDK.

 

Can you verify that there are netlists with these names in your project, and that ngdbuild can find them -- either by placing them in the project directory or by using the -sd switch?

 

thanks,

david.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Explorer
Explorer
15,403 Views
Registered: ‎05-21-2009

Hi David,

 

Thank you very much for your help. The netlists were available in the project directory. The problem was the -sd witch. I went to synthesis properties in ISE and added the project directory as a value for -sd. That worked fine. For some reason, the project directory wasn't added.

 

Thanks for your help! It is much appreciated!

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor
11,236 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2014

hello,i meet the same problem with you.following your advice,i added my project directory to -sd switch,but the errors still exist.what the issue?

0 Kudos