Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

manging custom IP versions

Hi

I am a novice to Vivado.

I have created a IP as per the xilinx flow, however, whenever i create a subsequent release of the IP, and create a new version number, I need to create a package using tools->create new package . Only then the updated files are copied. However if I update the package from project manager - package IP, the IP release directory does not take in any update.

The problem in using tools-> create new package , is i lose all the modifications I have done to the component.xml file, mainly custom interfaces.

Can someone help me understand the correct flow ?

Thanks

Sameer

0 Kudos
2 Replies
Highlighted
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Hi Sameer,

I recommend checking out the Creating and Packagin Custom IP User Guide. Let me know if that helps:

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug1118-vivado-creating-packaging-custom-ip.pdf

Ebrahim

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

I have exactly the same problem ( using vivado V2019.2)  .

It looks like a bug to me considering that the source files in the custom ip dir src/ are not updated while the .xml is updated  and vivado say that "Finished packaging... successfully"

My  custom  IP was originally created using Tools -> Create and package New Ip -> Package current project  . The top of the project  is a vhdl wrapper that instanciates a Block design which includes several  block designs and RTL blocks. All HDL source files are "remote" in a folder  structure ouside the project tree .

In the doc referenced in the answer (  https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2019_1/ug1118-vivado-creating-packaging-custom-ip.pdf), I dont see anything related to this problem .