UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RF Data Converter Software Drivers - Really Foolproof, not Really Frustrating

15 8 2,486

Hi, I’m Keith Lumsden and I am a Xilinx Applications Engineer.

I am very excited to have been asked to contribute to the brand new Design and Debug Techniques Blog for the Xilinx Community.

My main focus is providing support to customers working with RF Data Converters integrated into the Zynq® UltraScale™ RFSoC Product.

I’ve spent a lot of my career working with Analog and Mixed Signal Systems, FPGA Architecture, and I/O and Signal Integrity.  So I’m really a hardware guy, and I guess I’ve sometimes been guilty of thinking that embedded software was for other people.

This has changed with the arrival of the RF Data Converters. We've integrated world class RF ADCs and DACs into the Zynq UltraScale+ Architecture. So inevitably, traditional RF and Analog Engineers are being exposed to embedded systems in a way that they weren't before.

RF Data Converter Solution:

If you are familiar with the data converter solution, you’ll know that it is packaged as an IP Core in Vivado Design Suite. This allows you to manage status and control for the RF Analog-to-Digital Converter (RF-ADC) and RF Digital-to-Analog Converter (RF-DAC) tiles through the Software Driver provided by Xilinx.

(PG269) The Zynq UltraScale+ RFSoC RF Data Converter IP Product Guide has all of the details on the IP, and also has a detailed appendix on the driver.solution.JPG

Getting started with debug on the RF-ADC and RF-DAC

A great place to start is with the RF Analyzer tool.