UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor lonterus
Visitor

Getting an RS232 Uart to send and recieve

Hello, I am new to using the EDK, having used the Xilinx ISE previously, and need some basic help to get started.  I know that this is a basic question but one that I’m having trouble with. I'm trying to create a basic "Hello World" microBlaze processor to simulate in the ISE environment. Currently I’m at the stage of trying to get the system to spit out a single number on an output RS232 line. However, the system does not appear to be cooperating. I simulate the microBlaze, but regardless of the number proscribed the output is always 0. This is the code that I am currently running on boot:  #include "xparameters.h"#include "stdio.h"#include "uartlite_header.h"#include "xuartlite.h"//====================================================int main (void) {
 XUartLite OUT;
 Xuint8 buffer[1];
 buffer[0] = 1;
 if(XUartLite_Initialize(&OUT, XPAR_RS232_DEVICE_ID) != XST_DEVICE_NOT_FOUND)
 {
  while(1);
  {
   XUartLite_Send(&OUT, &buffer, 1);
  }
 } else {
  print("----RS232 NOT FOUND------");
 }
 return 0;
}
 Any help you guys could give would be most appreciated, either in direct help or pointing me to a decent tutorial so that i can help myself (note: I’ve looked in the EDK example projects and all I see are versions of the self test programs that don't send or receive any data).  Thanks,Lonterus

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Contributor
Contributor

Re: Getting an RS232 Uart to send and recieve

I have the same questions as yours, didn't figure out how to communicate the board and pc by using EDK.

Btw, what's your edition of ISE and EDK?

0 Kudos