cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

How to connect a VHDL block to opb_gpio?

Jump to solution

Thanks in advance for any help!!! 

2)  connecting the opb_gpio directly to my VHDL block... but still, i don't have any clue on how to do it

1)  create a VHDL block containing an instance of opb_gpio and my VHDL block (i don't know how to do it)

I have considered 2 solutions:

I can i realize it?

The schematic is something like this: MICROBLAZE<--->OPB_BUS<--->opb_gpio<---->My_VHDL_Block<--->External port

I need to make a connection between the output of IP opb_gpio (channel1) to a VHDL block that i have done. That block is then connected an external port.

Hello. I'm a beginner in EDK. I'm currently using XPS 8.2.

BEGIN of TEXT

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Contributor
Contributor

You want to use gpio, but not to drive/read external pins, but to drive/read inputs/outputs of a standard vhdl block? Ok. Then you should be able to use opb_gpio unmodified.

You just need to wrap your vhdl module in a pcore.

Not an issue. Please follow these steps. (I'm following along in EDK 10.1, so it is possible the steps will be slightly different. )

1. First you should have an ISE project in which the vhdl module in question is the top level module.
  2. Be sure tosythsize this module. (This ensures that a .prj file will be in the directory, and that the module does not conatin errors).
  3. In the Platform Studio window, select "Create or import perhiperal" from the Hardware menu.
  4. Select Import Exister perhiperal, and click next.
  5. leave the selection at "to existing XPS project" and click next.
  6. Enter the name of the top level entity of the vhdl projectand click next.
  7. Choose the "use an XST projec" option, and bowse to the correct .prj file, then click next.