UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,162 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

How could I put DCM module which is generate by architecture wizard into my XPS project? I tried to create a new IP in XPS and paste code in vhdl and usf files generated by wizrad into vhdl and usf files in XPS project. But I got

 

====================

ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:NgdBuild:981 - Could not find any associations for the following
   constraint:
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLK_FEEDBACK = 1X;>
   [system.ucf(582)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKDV_DIVIDE = 2.0;>
   [system.ucf(583)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKFX_DIVIDE = 31;>
   [system.ucf(584)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKFX_MULTIPLY = 7;>
   [system.ucf(585)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKIN_DIVIDE_BY_2 =
   FALSE;> [system.ucf(586)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKIN_PERIOD = 20.000;>
   [system.ucf(587)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST CLKOUT_PHASE_SHIFT =
   NONE;> [system.ucf(588)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST DESKEW_ADJUST =
   SYSTEM_SYNCHRONOUS;> [system.ucf(589)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please
   verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST DFS_FREQUENCY_MODE =
   LOW;> [system.ucf(590)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST DLL_FREQUENCY_MODE =
   LOW;> [system.ucf(591)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST DUTY_CYCLE_CORRECTION =
   TRUE;> [system.ucf(592)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST FACTORY_JF = C080;>
   [system.ucf(593)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST PHASE_SHIFT = 0;>
   [system.ucf(594)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:ConstraintSystem:59 - Constraint <INST DCM_SP_INST STARTUP_WAIT = FALSE;>
   [system.ucf(595)]: INST "DCM_SP_INST" not found.  Please verify that:
   1. The specified design element actually exists in the original design.
   2. The specified object is spelled correctly in the constraint source file.
ERROR:NgdBuild:604 - logical block 'dcm_module_0/dcm_module_0' with type
   'dcm_module' could not be resolved. A pin name misspelling can cause this, a
   missing edif or ngc file, case mismatch between the block name and the edif
   or ngc file name, or the misspelling of a type name. Symbol 'dcm_module' is
   not supported in target 'spartan3e'.
ERROR:Xflow - Program ngdbuild returned error code 2. Aborting flow execution...
Partition Implementation Status
-------------------------------

  No Partitions were found in this design.

-------------------------------

NGDBUILD Design Results Summary:
  Number of errors:    29
  Number of warnings: 173

Total REAL time to NGDBUILD completion:  47 sec
Total CPU time to NGDBUILD completion:   46 sec

One or more errors were found during NGDBUILD.  No NGD file will be written.

Writing NGDBUILD log file "system.bld"...
ERROR:Xflow - Program ngdbuild returned error code 2. Aborting flow execution...
make: *** [__xps/system_routed] Error 1
Done!


====================

 

I don't think it is the right way to do import files. Is there other way to import DCM module?

Thanks in advance.

 

Best,

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
4,889 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

What happens when you press "Validate Clocks" in the clock wizard?

 


@bs0826 wrote:

Forgot to say.

Why do I get "Please make sure the core specific logic for the following components is in sync with the system changing: proc_sys_reset_0, fsl_i2s_0, dcm_module_0"?

 

Thanks.


If the clocks change, you need to ensure that the quoted modules are capable of handling the change. The system is just asking you to check. For example, the proc_sys_reset_0 may need to be connected to a different "Slowest_Sync_Clock" if you change clock frequencies (this is a hint - connect your slowest frequency to this port!).

The crucial test is - can you successfully validate the clocks? If yes, you're "home free" :)

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
11 Replies
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
7,156 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

Use the Clock Generator IP in the XPS catalogue.

 

Regards,

 

Howard

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle
0 Kudos
Highlighted
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,153 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution
Thanks. But I need to have a 11.2908Mhz clock from spartan 3e starter kit.
0 Kudos
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
7,147 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

For Spartan 3 the clock generator instantiates a DCM to your specification. I don't understand the problem as you describe it. Why can't you use the IP?

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle
0 Kudos
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,130 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

@hgleamon1 wrote:

For Spartan 3 the clock generator instantiates a DCM to your specification. I don't understand the problem as you describe it. Why can't you use the IP?

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 


 

 

0 Kudos
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
7,122 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

You are using XPS aren't you (at least you stated that in your first post)?

 

Personally, I find it easier to configure the IP directly rather than use the wizard but you can access the wizard from the Hardware toolbar menu:

 

xps_clkwiz.jpg 

 

Like I said, if you read the IP datasheet so you know what parameters mean what, you can go ahead and configure it directly like any other IP.

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle
0 Kudos
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,114 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

Hi hgleamon1,

 

Thank you.

I have tried the clock wizard. When I enter the desired frequency 11.2896 MHz in the drop down menu, there is a message popped out saying the frequency can't be generated. That's why I use dcm to manually select parameters M and D to systhesize the desired frequency.

May I ask how could I do it with clock generator? Thanks.

 

Best,

0 Kudos
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
7,106 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

When I enter the desired frequency 11.2896 MHz

This is not the same frequency as you mentioned in message 3 of this thread. Which one do you actually want? Must it be so accurate?

 

there is a message popped out saying the frequency can't be generated

What is your input frequency? Do you know that it is possible to generate your desired clock, with integer M and D?

 

May I ask how could I do it with clock generator?

I'll have to have a go myself and see what happens. Give me your input frequency and I'll play around a bit.

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle
0 Kudos
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,097 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

Thank you so much for helping.

 

I'm sorry foy the confusion. I tried to put different values int to the clock generator. 

 

If I put the value11.00MHz into fsl_i2s_0, the warning says "The frequency <11.000MHz> you entered can not be generated using the current reference clock. Please enter diffferent value", which means M and D are not used, riight?

 

Since the desired frequency is 11.2896 MHz. It can't be generated from 50MHz clock. Therefore, I use the approximated value 50*M/D=50*7/31=11.2903225806MHz and put the value into fsl_i2s_0. After clicking OK, The warning window shows "Please make sure the core specific logic for the following components is in sync with the system changing: proc_sys_reset_0, fsl_i2s_0, dcm_module_0". Does it mean I succefully generate 50*M/D=50*7/31=11.2903225806MHz?

 

 

clock input.jpg
0 Kudos
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
7,096 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

Forgot to say.

Why do I get "Please make sure the core specific logic for the following components is in sync with the system changing: proc_sys_reset_0, fsl_i2s_0, dcm_module_0"?

 

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Mentor hgleamon1
Mentor
4,890 Views
Registered: ‎11-14-2011

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

What happens when you press "Validate Clocks" in the clock wizard?

 


@bs0826 wrote:

Forgot to say.

Why do I get "Please make sure the core specific logic for the following components is in sync with the system changing: proc_sys_reset_0, fsl_i2s_0, dcm_module_0"?

 

Thanks.


If the clocks change, you need to ensure that the quoted modules are capable of handling the change. The system is just asking you to check. For example, the proc_sys_reset_0 may need to be connected to a different "Slowest_Sync_Clock" if you change clock frequencies (this is a hint - connect your slowest frequency to this port!).

The crucial test is - can you successfully validate the clocks? If yes, you're "home free" :)

 

Regards,

 

Howard

 

----------
"That which we must learn to do, we learn by doing." - Aristotle

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Visitor bs0826
Visitor
2,578 Views
Registered: ‎11-29-2012

Re: Question about importing architecture wizard generated DCM module

Jump to solution

After pressing Validate Clocks, it shows "validation was successful". 

Thank you for detailed explanation. :)

0 Kudos