Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
fransschreuder
Participant
Participant

SDK 12.1 - FSL Driver does not alter xparameters.h

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new with Xilinx, and after my first hello_world with MicroBlaze, I am now trying an FSL bus (using the examples and standard drivers created by XPS).

However, when I compile everything, the fsl directives don't seem to be included in xparameters.h. All I see there is:

/******************************************************************/
/* Definitions for peripheral FSL_PERIPHERAL2_0 */
/* Definitions for peripheral FSL_PERIPHERAL_0 */
/******************************************************************/

When I compile, I get these error messages:

/tmp/cchhdGzs.s: Assembler messages:
/tmp/cchhdGzs.s:3099: Error: register expected, but saw 'rfslXP'
/tmp/cchhdGzs.s:3099: Warning: ignoring operands: rfslXPAR_FSL_FSL_PERIPHERAL_0_INPUT_SLOT_ID
/tmp/cchhdGzs.s:3114: Error: register expected, but saw 'rfslXP'
/tmp/cchhdGzs.s:3114: Warning: ignoring operands: rfslXPAR_FSL_FSL_PERIPHERAL_0_OUTPUT_SLOT_ID

I also read on some forums that I can define the slot_id's manually like this:

#define input_slot_id 0

#define output_slot_id 0

This makes the program compile and run, but the FSL bus doesn't seem to work, I get the values from the output which I also put in. this shouldn't occur because I do some addition (as in the generated vhdl example).

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
fransschreuder
Participant
Participant

Thank you for your answers.

I figured out what the problem was, since I was new to the concept of fsl, I didn't really understand the meaning of "master and slave" regarding fsl. Also I should have mentioned the word "simplex". What I did was just connecting one fsl bus from the Microblaze master to the slave of the peripheral. Connecting a second fsl bus for reading back the value solved the problem. I can now use the defines in the c code like