Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor
Visitor

XPS - BSB Wizard - ML605 - UCF For DDR3

Hello,

I am just getting into the uBlaze stuff. 

I am currently trying to build a very basic uBlaze System on the ML605. 

I do this in the following steps:

- Create  ISE13.4 project, target is the ML605. Crate a new source, embedded CPU

- XPS opens up and asks me to run BSB Wizard and I do

- I remove most of the peripherals from the right side of the screen to keep it simple, but I do leave the DDR3 in. 

- When I see my System Assembly view is done, I checked the ucf file...which graphically located on the left, under the platform view, 'project files'

- When I open the ucf, it shows pin assignments for all of the peripherall EXCEPT the DDR3...WHY? 

So when I go back to the System Assembly view, and click on the DDR3 peripheral, it brings up the MIG Wizard. I notice the DDR3 was totally not even set up....WHY? If I targeted tyhe ML605...it KNOWS what I got...this should be all automated...

So then I go through the process:

- create design...DDR3 using AXI

- memory type is SODIMM, and I choose the one on the ML605

- leave all the settings the same...32 bit data bus, etc..

- then it asks me how to do pin selection, and I chose a fixed design...as it is....ML605

- It brings me to a screen where it asks me for a UCF....I DONT HAVE THE UCF...SHOULDN'T IT KNOW ALREADY SINCE IT KNOWS I AM USING THE DARN ML605???

- Embedded kit has to ucf for the ddr3 either...

So what do I do?? What am I missing here? =/

-Peter

0 Kudos
4 Replies
Highlighted
Anonymous
Not applicable

Re: XPS - BSB Wizard - ML605 - UCF For DDR3

Hi guys,

I also face exact the same problem described above.

In my case, I use Spartan 6 SP605 Evaluation Board. I try to use 128 Mb DDR3 Ram. I use BSP to generate DDR3 Memory Controller Core. However, for both PLB and AXI bus, the ucf files have no declaration of pins for DDR3 RAM.