UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer sadiqhus
Observer

accessing ports existing in Xps in SDK

Jump to solution

Hi,

I am new to XPS design,I have created some external ports in XPS, now i want to access them in SDK, i have searched for this, i have found some solutions which says add xps_gpio e.g.

http://forums.xilinx.com/xlnx/board/message?board.id=EDK&message.id=13325

I have added that, but my question is after adding gpio, how to connect it to specific port? (by editing mhs file?)

I have tried this 

BEGIN xps_gpio
 PARAMETER INSTANCE = xps_gpio_0
 PARAMETER HW_VER = 2.00.a
 PARAMETER C_INTERRUPT_PRESENT = 1
 PARAMETER C_GPIO_WIDTH = 8
 PARAMETER C_BASEADDR = 0x81480000
 PARAMETER C_HIGHADDR = 0x8148ffff
 BUS_INTERFACE SPLB = mb_plb
 PORT GPIO_IO =Ext_Port_1
END

where Ext_Port_1 is the port which i want to access in SDK, Is this procedure correct?

and then how to access that in SDK? I have tried to access it using "Ext_Port_1" and "xps_gpio_0_GPIO_IO" (which is the default name of gpio port ) but they  don't work. Should i use some sort of address? please explain this

Also what would be the case when i try to map an inout port? Is there any differnce?

Looking for your help !

Thanks and Best Regards,

sadiqhus

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Participant n5ac
Participant

Re: accessing ports existing in Xps in SDK

Jump to solution

OK your first declaration is correct in the MHS file:

PORT GPIO_IO =Ext_Port_1

and then you will need to put the pin-out information in the UCF file.