UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor jflatnwu
Visitor

Ethernet transfer speed

Hi,

I'm trying to figure out how can I reach 1 Gbit/s ethernet transfer speed with the ZedBoard (which has Zynq 7020). I booted the ZedBoard with PetaLinux 2015.2.1. Then, I used scp to copy a big file from PetaLinux to my host PC (running Ubuntu). I got a speed of about 7.0 MByte/s = about 56 Mbit/s. I verified using ethtool that both PetaLinux and the host are running on "speed: 1000Mb/s" and "Duplex: Full" mode. Is the 7MB/s transfer speed kind of expected? (I'm not very experienced with embedded Linux.) How can I achieve a better transfer speed? I would like to get 4-5x faster speed.

Thanks,

Jia

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Scholar trenz-al
Scholar

Re: Ethernet transfer speed

20GB sustained is possible with ZYNQ and linux

with some super tweaking maybe 55-60M sustained, but not more. peak can be better of course.

zynq has no jumbo frames support, so it kills the performance

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer

It's just about impossible to saturate a GbE link from a processor running linux. Your 7MB/s is pretty typical. I think the best I've seen with linux is 10-20MB/s. To really saturate the link you need to get the processor and linux out of the way. It can almost be done from the PL (state machine) using UDP transfers. I work on high-speed video cameras where large video captures (8GB to 16GB) need to be downloaded to a PC in a reasonable amount of time. It's relatively easy to achieve > 100MB/s (800Mbps), but 1Gbps (100% wire throughput) is impossible due to overhead. Jumbo frames help a lot to minimize the overhead.