UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer philtempblue
Observer

Help With Auto Mounting SD Card Partition to /media - PetaLinux

Jump to solution

Hello,

I'm really new to PeteLinux and have been searching for an answer to this; however, all the posts I find are not exactly at the level I need.

I am currently booting PetaLinux from an SD card onto a PicoZed 7020.  I used the instructions in ug1144 and everything is working well. 

https://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/sw_manuals/xilinx2017_1/ug1144-petalinux-tools-reference-guide.pdf

The SD card has three partitions: the first and second partitions are the BOOT and rootfs partitions, created and populated using ug1144 (pages 48-50).  The file system contents within the rootfs partition are loaded into ramdisk upon boot. The third partition is an ext4 partition that I'm using to store "whatever" files... let's call it the whateverpartition

All three partitions appear under /dev as mmcblk0p1 (BOOT partition), mmcblk0p2 (rootfs partition), and mmcblk0p3 (whateverpartition partition) after boot-up.  Of course, the file system contained within the second partition is loaded into ramdisk successfully.  I can use the mount command to mount any of these partitions to manually created sub-directories within /media directory.

What I need help with is understanding how to configure PetaLinux (u-boot or whatever?) to do the following on boot:

1. Auto create an arbitrary mount directory /media/sdpart3
  2. Auto mount the mmcblk0p3 to the /media/sdpart3