UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

How to include U-Boot's "fw_printenv" tool in Petalinux rootfs

Accepted Solution Solved
Explorer
Accepted Solution

How to include U-Boot's "fw_printenv" tool in Petalinux rootfs

Hey all,

I hope this is an easy question.

I'd like to include the print/set ENV tool found in:

<project>/build/linux/u-boot/src/u-boot-plnx/tools/env/

It's there. It just doesn't compile. how can I include it to get built and then included into the rootfs.

I didn't see anything in petalinux-config or -c rootfs that includes it.

little help?

thanks,

-Ben

Accepted Solutions
Xilinx Employee

Re: How to include U-Boot's "fw_printenv" tool in Petalinux rootfs

Hi Ben - I have never done this before, but it got me curious so I started looking around. 

I can get the tools to build with Petalinux with the following command: 

petalinux-build -c u-boot -x env_only

That will give you the fw_printenv program that you can test out. If it does, then you should be able to create a new application template that will just copy that file to the RFS.  In theory, you could bring the source for fw_printenv over into the application template and build it automatically on the Linux side, but I'm just not sure if the build process will "just work" or not. 

Take a look at UG1144 starting at section "Including Pre-built Applications." 

Please reply back and let me know if it works. 

Regards, 

Terry

View solution in original post

All Replies

check this third party link it may help you
https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/techref/bootloader/uboot.config
Thanks and Regards
Balkrishan
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------