cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor
Visitor

Using UART/USB for communication in Petalinux on Zybo Z7-10

Hello,

I am very new to Xilinx SoC, so this may sound bit foolish. I am running a bare minimum Petalinux (2019.2) on a zybo Z7-10. I followed the instructions on ug1144 to build petalinux (no bsp, just a zynq ps in bitstream). Everything is in default configuration. I can both SSH into the petalinux and use GtkTerm to establish serial communication using JTAG port.

What I need to do is to send and receive data over either UART or USB. I have a python program running which is trying to collect data from and send command to an arduino. The data/command is simple string. But when I connect the arduino using JTAG J11 or USB port, it does not show up in /dev/tty*. I first thought that I need to enable the USB in kernel. I tried to search how to do that, but couldn't find a definitive answer. In the kernel config, everything that is mentioned here is selected. I tried to some other solutions like editing the system-top.dts, but didn't work as every time I build petalinux project system-top.dts gets overwritten. I am probably looking at the wrong place and getting more confused.

As an alternative, I was thinking to use PL to do the communication and use a USB-to-TTL converter, but then I found that zybo only has TX/RX in JTAG which can only be used by PS. Is there anyway to establish communication between an arduino and PL? I just need to establish send/receive data from FPGA to arduino, PL or PS doesn't really matter.  

Is their any manual or project that I can use to achieve my goal? I am really lost here, and would appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Re: Using UART/USB for communication in Petalinux on Zybo Z7-10

Have you checked if the usb is set to host mode in the device tree?