cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
beckett37
Visitor
Visitor
4,808 Views
Registered: ‎08-11-2013

Yocto and Bitbake commands

Hi,

 

Is it possible invoke bitbake commands directly from the Petalinux environment,

for example I know it is possible to execute some tasks by using -x as in petalinux-build -x task_name

but what about options like:

bitbake -e which would list all of the Metadata, of the _D option for debug level?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
lcameron
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,775 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

There is a way to set up a shell for bitbake inside the petalinux environment.

 

I'm sure it's in an AR, UG or wiki page somewhere, but here's mine:

 

. ~/petalinux-v2017.1-final/components/yocto/source/aarch64/environment-setup-aarch64-xilinx-linux
. ~/petalinux-v2017.1-final/components/yocto/source/aarch64/layers/core/oe-init-build-env
export PATH=~/petalinux-v2017.1-final/tools/hsm/bin:$PATH
export BB_ENV_EXTRAWHITE="$BB_ENV_EXTRAWHITE PETALINUX"

 

Then bitbake commands can be run directly. 

 

Note that you have to do this in another new shell, one that is NOT set up for petalinux commands.

 

beckett37
Visitor
Visitor
4,769 Views
Registered: ‎08-11-2013

Thanks for the reply, just curious why it cannot be run in the same terminal as petalinux, are the two systems not compatible?

0 Kudos
lcameron
Adventurer
Adventurer
4,741 Views
Registered: ‎02-14-2014

It seems there's something in the environment from the petalinux settings.sh that breaks those other setup scripts. 

 

Which is quite strange as the petalinux tools run bitbake.  If you were determined you could probably figure out which environment variables were causing it and just unset them between using petalinux and bitbake directly.

 

 

0 Kudos
tmonaghan84
Explorer
Explorer
1,151 Views
Registered: ‎04-19-2018

0 Kudos
hokim
Scholar
Scholar
1,108 Views
Registered: ‎10-21-2015

Hi

For bitbake -e,  you can use petalinux-build -c '-e recipe-name' in petalinux

0 Kudos