UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor apullin2
Visitor

Zynq: many UARTs IP -> ARM -> kernel -> /dev/tty

Hi folks,
Is there a straightforward way to instantiate many UART cores in the fabric of a Zynq, and easily tie them into the linux system such that kernel drivers automagically handle their, and they'll simply appear as many /dev/tty.xyz devices?
The ultimate goal is that I would then use Python to actuate those as needsbe.
By "many", I mean 100+.

I have very little knowledge of FPGA's, but I thought that stuff like this was the kind of scenario that Zynq was meant to make easy.

I can see that there exists a 16550 IP core, and that I can fit 100 or more into this 53K LUT Zynq I have. But beyond that ... I would really like to get some input before sinking time into trying to do it.

If any Xilinx FAE's are reading, help me out with this and I'll write up the project into a really great applied tech blog post ;)

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Scholar vanmierlo
Scholar

Re: Zynq: many UARTs IP -> ARM -> kernel -> /dev/tty

My first question would be: do you need all handshake lines, runtime configurable baudrate, etc.? Or would 100+ UARTlites work as well?

The second is: What version of petalinux are you planning to use? I believe that only 2018.x versions support multiple cascaded interrupt controllers.

And then there is the issue of identifying which /dev/ttySx is which UART that Xilinx doesn't want to solve properly and easy for us to use.

0 Kudos
Visitor apullin2
Visitor

Whoa, I didn't even notice the reply.