UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor tervoa
Visitor

Debugging custom AXI4 master on Z7020

Jump to solution

I have a custom AXI master IP running on a PYNQ-Z1 board. The AXI master is connected to the PS AXI3 slave port (S_GP0) and through that, attempts to access PL peripherals. It attempts to read 16 words (32b) of data from a BRAM block mapped (through an AXI BRAM controller) to 0x4000_0000, and write that data back to the same block, next to the read data (0x4000_0020 onwards). I've been trying to debug the behaviour with an ILA core and AXI protocol checkers, and am running out of ideas at the moment.

When connected directly to the BRAM controller, the read/write transfers succeed without an error. When connected through interconnects and the PS, the read transfer succeeds, but the write transfer doesn't. The interconnect connected to the custom IP has a 32 word deep FIFO, so the it accepts all write data. However, while the address and control packet is forwarded to the PS/AXI3 side of the interconnect (all data seems to be as it should, AWVALID is high), AWREADY stays low, i.e. the PS doesn't even accept the address and control packet.

I have AXI protocol checkers connected to both interfaces, and the only errors they give are on bits 58 and 59, i.e. AXI_ERRS_RDATA_NUM and AXI_ERRS_RID. I'm not entirely sure why this happens, as they activate mid-burst without any reason (there are 16 read strobes visible, and ARLEN is 0x0f when ARVALID is high). Anyway, both errors comment on the read channel and seemingly on signals produced by Xilinx IP, so it seems safe to ignore those.

Any advice is appreciated.

0 Kudos
1 Solution