UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Visitor guenselmann
Visitor

Zedboard Mini-ITX (Zynq XC7Z100) seems to hang when PL RAM (MIG) is used

Jump to solution

Hi all!

I am currently working on a design involving a Zedboard Mini-ITX with a Zynq XC7Z100-2FFG900 on it (https://www.avnet.com/shop/us/products/avnet-engineering-services/aes-mini-itx-7z100-sys-g-3074457345635221590/?aka_re=1). The board has 1 GB of DDR3 memory for the PS and 1 GB DDR3 connected to the PL. I am new to Zynq designing and I ran out of things to try to resolve my problem, so I decided to ask here. My final goal is to have a design involving the PL DDR3.

To get familiar with the system, I ran the out-of-box demo provided by AVNET on zedboard.org (http://zedboard.org/support/design/2056/17). Booted from the SD-card, connected via SSH and ran some programs. The board seems to work so far.

Then I set up a block design in Vivado 2016.4 (I am kind of stuck with this version) containing only the processing system and executed the "Hello World" program in the SDK via JTAG boot. Works great, I get the UART response!

Now I tried to make a design involving the PL DDR3 by following the tutorial which is included in the board file .zip on http://zedboard.org/support/documentation/2056. I attached a screenshot of the block design. When I try to run "Hello World" on this design the LED indicates that the board was programmed successfully, but I don't get any UART output. So I followed the tutorial again, still no luck.