cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
rsahakian
Contributor
Contributor
12,154 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2012

Aurora loopback between two transceivers in the same tile ML507

Jump to solution

Hi,

 

I am trying to implement an Aurora link between the two transceivers in the X0Y3 tile of the ML507 (XC5VFX70T) board. I am trying to complete a loopback test over a SATA link. How many Aurora cores would I need to generate? My understanding is that each Aurora lane/channel uses one transceiver so I would be needing two separate Aurora cores. I am not sure how i would combine them in a single project. Any help is appreciated.

0 Kudos
Reply
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
17,711 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010
Yes. You will need to re-label signals of the individual cores on the top level and connect them at that level
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
11 Replies
smarell
Community Manager
Community Manager
12,146 Views
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
If you are planning to have the same line rate and ref clk frequency for both the tiles, then you can generate a single aurora core with two lanes.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as "Accept as solution" if the information provided answers your query/resolves your issue.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
0 Kudos
Reply
umamahe
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
12,142 Views
Registered: ‎08-01-2012

The following AR http://www.xilinx.com/support/answers/21263.htm also having useful knowledge related to your query

________________________________________________

Please mark this post as an "Accept as solution" in case if it helped to resolve your query. So that it will help to other forum users to directly refer to the answer.

Give kudos to this post in case if you think the information is useful and reply oriented.

0 Kudos
Reply
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
12,134 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010
refer to Appendix A of ug353
http://www.xilinx.com/support/documentation/ip_documentation/aurora_8b10b/v5_3/aurora_8b10b_ug353.pdf
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
rsahakian
Contributor
Contributor
12,126 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2012

The issue here is that both transceivers are in the same tile so i can't just generate a core with 2 lanes.

0 Kudos
Reply
smarell
Community Manager
Community Manager
12,103 Views
Registered: ‎07-23-2012
You need to generate two cores and stitch them together (by manually editing) to make use of single dual tile.

Refer to the link provided by @venkata.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please mark the post as "Accept as solution" if the information provided answers your query/resolves your issue.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful.
0 Kudos
Reply
rsahakian
Contributor
Contributor
12,074 Views
Registered: ‎07-09-2012

I have looked into that portion of the UG but I am not sure about how to implement the stiching of the two cores in one project. Do i have to re-label signals of the individual cores on the top level and connect them at that level? Any previous work that i can take pointers from?

0 Kudos
Reply
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
17,712 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010
Yes. You will need to re-label signals of the individual cores on the top level and connect them at that level
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Reply
mutaal
Observer
Observer
10,648 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2014
hi,
I am doing the same thing with PCIE protocol. How can I write the UCF file for loop back testing and is there any jumper setting for loop back ?
0 Kudos
Reply
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
10,645 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010
can you create a different post in PCIe board?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
mutaal
Observer
Observer
7,331 Views
Registered: ‎05-14-2014

Hi, 

 

My problem is wtih GTX & SATA . Anyways give me thread of PCIE 

 

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
venkata
Moderator
Moderator
7,326 Views
Registered: ‎02-16-2010
In the previous post you mentioned about PCIe. This is why I have told to create topic in PCIe board.

If it is between GTX and SATA, then create a new topic in this board itself.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don't forget to reply, give kudo and accept as solution
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply