UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor tremmert
Visitor

Newbe - FPGA with GPS time sync and possible ADC?

Hello,

Fair warning... I am new to the FPGA world....

I have a project in mind and would like to design it using a FPGA dev board.  Basically, I am needing to monitor a contact closure switch.  When the switch is closed, I need to apply a timestamp that has sub millisecond accuracy (utilizing the 1pps signal from the gps chip).  I have looked at other microcontrollers, and the best I have been able to achieve is +/-2ms on a Beaglebone Black. 

I have always wanted to learn FPGA's so I assumed this would be a good start.  Can anyone begin by giving me some recommendations?  For example, I am still looking through the dev boards trying to choose one.  Right now, I am leaning on a spartan 6. 

Any thoughts that could push me in the right direction?

Thanks

Tommy

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee

Re: Newbe - FPGA with GPS time sync and possible ADC?

Hi tremmert,

A Spartan-6 board should be a good start. Which Eval board are you considering?

Doing a quick search online I found this project that uses a Spartan-3 board:

https://www.sparkfun.com/news/754

Let us know how we can help.

Thanks,

Andres

0 Kudos
Visitor tremmert
Visitor

Andres,

Thanks for the feedback!  Based on example projects that I have seen, I am leaning twards a Spartan-6.  Regarding dev boards, that is still a good question.  I am trying to keep my ultimate goal in mind and find a dev board that has all the components that I would need for testing.