UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor jsirovljevic
Visitor
11,565 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2014

Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hi all,

 

I'm having a lot of problems with synthesis for ZCU102 board in Vivado 2016.1.  I followed all the steps described in Head Start lounge:

- installed 2016.1 with Zynq and Ultrascale+ options included

- got my ES1 license set up (screenshot below)

- enabled beta devices

- downloaded board files and pointed to them in Vivado

 

Then when I tried running one of the simple examples from Head Start lounge, I realized that it failes at synthesis every time with the message "[Coretcl 2-106] Specified part could not be found.".  ZCU102 is listed in my list of boards as well as when I run get_board_parts command.  I am able to create a project using this board but sythesis fails.

 

Any help or suggestion is much appreciated!

 

Thanks!
Jelena

 

licenses.png

0 Kudos
14 Replies
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
11,546 Views
Registered: ‎04-16-2012

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hi @jsirovljevic

 

Did you create init.tcl and placed in correct directory to enable the device?

Follow the STEP 2.B instructions in heads start page.

 

Thanks,

Vinay

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Have you tried typing your question in Google? If not you should before posting. Also, MARK this is as an answer in case it helped resolve your query/issue.Give kudos to the post that helped you to find the solution.
0 Kudos
Visitor jsirovljevic
Visitor
11,529 Views
Registered: ‎01-30-2014

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hi Vinay,

 

Yes, I definitely ran "enable_beta_device" command which is what is in that init.tcl file.  This command takes a long time to run (more than 10 minutes on my machine) so putting it in the init.tcl file makes my Vivado connection time out and give me an error.  What I did instead is open Vivado and run the command in Tcl Console before doing anything else.  That process should be exactly the same as putting the command in the init.tcl file (I assume).

 

Before running that command I couldn't even open the project that had ZCU102 specified.  After running that command and pointing to where the board files are located, I can open the ZCU102 project but synthesis fails right away. 

 

Can you think of any other steps that I might be missing?

 

Thanks for your help!

Jelena

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
10,822 Views
Registered: ‎09-13-2011

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Found the same problem. Now I have just changed the device to a commercial temperature range device and then for some reason the synthesis could run. I set the device to this: xczu9eg-ffvb1156-1-e-EVAL.

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
10,312 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Note that to be able to run bitgen the device needs to be ES1, i.e. xczu9eg-ffvb1156-1-i-es1. To speed up the Vivado launch with the enable_beta_device command in init.tcl you can add some filtering. As an example,

           enable_beta_device xczu9eg*

If you want to have additional devices availabel you can repeat the command. To have ZU9 & ZU3 :

           enable_beta_device xczu9eg*

 

           enable_beta_device xczu3eg*

My recommendation is to have the enable_beta_device command(s) in the init.tcl rather than executing them after launch, this works consistently for me across multiple machines. I would also have the board setup commands in init.tcl. Adding that to the above would give :

 

          enable_beta_device xczu9eg*
          enable_beta_device xczu3eg*
          set_param board.repoPaths <path to where you put the board files>

 

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
7,661 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hello,

For a while I have been using the xczu9eg-es1 device in my vivado projects for our ZCU102 board.

I have been using vivado 2016.2 and every thing was going fine.

 

Now from two days ago, all of a sudden, vivado does not show me -es1 devices any more!!!

What should I do? I have no idea why this is happening. the -es2 and -EVAL devices are there. But I need the -es1 for our current ZCU102 board.

 

thanks

0 Kudos
Scholar pratham
Scholar
7,657 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

@mamisadegh3 Please create a new thread. Can you try using TCL command?

 

Select any part and then run below TCL command

 

set_property part xczu9eg-ffvb1156-1-i-es1 [current_project]

 

For selecting board

set_property board_part xilinx.com:zcu102:part0:1.1 [current_project]

-Pratham

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Explorer
Explorer
7,655 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hello @pratham

Thanks for reply,

obviously it will not work.

 

So, first, here is the init.tcl file :

 

#############################

enable_beta_device xczu9eg*
enable_beta_device xczu3eg*
enable_beta_device xczu7ev*

#############################

 

and then, we i run vivado 2016.2 , this file basically generates this result :

 

Sourcing tcl script 'C:/Xilinx/Vivado/2016.2/scripts/init.tcl'
16 Beta devices matching pattern found, 0 enabled.
24 Beta devices matching pattern found, 0 enabled.
48 Beta devices matching pattern found, 0 enabled.

 

As you see, Vivado 2016.2 finds the beta devices but does not enable them.

Why???? (up to some days ago it was enabling them all. Is there any date hard coded into vivado to disable these devices, e.g. from the beginning of october? )

 

Now, if I create a project, using one of the available -EVAL ZYNQ Ultrascale devices and then issue

 

set_property part xczu9eg-ffvb1156-1-i-es1 [current_project]

 

I get an error, that the device is not found.

 

I really need this.

We have 5 ZCU102 boards with -es1 devices.

I need to create bitstreams for -es1 , not for -es2.

I have noticed PS configuration is different between these two.

 

Thanks,

Mo.

 

0 Kudos
Scholar pratham
Scholar
7,650 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

@mamisadegh3 that part is in supported and i don't know why you have to enable it? Can you go to help --> Add new tools or device and enable or reinstall zynq US part?

-Pratham

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
forum.JPG
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
7,633 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Hello @pratham

Thanks for reply and attention.

 

Look! I think I have not described clearly the problem:

 

We have 5 (FIVE)  ZCU102 boards, all with -es1 device.

 

Now, in vivado 2016.2 the device has disappeared !!!

I did not change any thing with vivado configuration. I did not change my init.tcl.

Just from two days ago, vivado does no more enable the -es1 devices.

And I cant use the -es2 devices for projects because our boards are -es1.

 

I will be thankful if you advice me what should I do.

Thanks,

Mo.

0 Kudos
Scholar pratham
Scholar
4,920 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

@mamisadegh3 This is very strange. Did you reinstall the tool and give a try?

-Pratham

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
4,919 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

@prathamHello,

What I did was to perform a fresh install of vivado 2016.3 head that your friends has provided to us under Linux. and I did the same configuration for the init.tcl and the same thing happens. It finds the beta devices but does not enable them.

Are you aware of any internal mechanism in vivado that intentionaly disable these devices after a certain date?

0 Kudos
Scholar pratham
Scholar
4,909 Views
Registered: ‎06-05-2013

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

@mamisadegh3 I would recommend you to file an SR on this.

-Pratham

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kindly note- Please mark the Answer as "Accept as solution" if information provided is helpful.

Give Kudos to a post which you think is helpful and reply oriented.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
4,904 Views
Registered: ‎11-28-2007

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

Have you checked if the license for ES1 has expired? The early batch of ES1 licenses have an expiration of Sep-30. You may need to generate a new set ES1 licenses.

0 Kudos
Explorer
Explorer
4,903 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2010

Re: Synthesis Failure for ZCU102 - Vivado 2016.1

thanks, issue solved. our license was expired.

0 Kudos