UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
827 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

When I go to program my device, (for the .bit file) Vivado always defaults to looking in some obscure directory, rather than the one in which I am working. 

 

The file Vivado wants to use:   /home/myname/tools/Xilinx/Vivado/2018.3/data/xicom/cfgmem/spi_xc7k160t_pullnone.bit

The file that's correct:  /home/myname/dev/devHDL/S_Interface/S_Interface-k7-V03.runs/impl_1/S_InterfaceV03.bit

 

How can I get Vivado to automatically look in the place in which it put the bitstream?

 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
659 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Vivado is looking in a place in which it is not even writing a file.  This is a bug IMO.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
8 Replies
Moderator
Moderator
794 Views
Registered: ‎02-09-2017

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Hi @mike65535 ,

 

Are you opening the HW Manager within a Vivado project? If so, it should default to look into the project directory.

Otherwise, if you are just opening the HW Manager without having a project open, it will default to look into some Vivado Tools directory.

Thanks,

Andre Guerrero

Product Applications Engineer

-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Don’t forget to reply, kudo, and accept as solution.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
Highlighted
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
765 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

I am opening HW Manager from within a project.

This is a project I inherited. I don't know its original folder structure.

0 Kudos
Moderator
Moderator
755 Views
Registered: ‎01-15-2008

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

you might see this if you have programmed the flash attached to the fpga.

The bit file it is pointing is indirect programming logic bit file which will be required for programming the flash

0 Kudos
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
745 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Is there not a setting I can look at and hopefully modify, telling Vivadi where to look?

 

As I wrote, Vivado puts the bit file there every time I build, yet it doesn't know to look there? 

0 Kudos
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
701 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Anyone?

0 Kudos
Xilinx Employee
Xilinx Employee
694 Views
Registered: ‎06-06-2018

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Hi @mike65535 ,

Thers is no such seetings to tell the Vivado to search for BitStream file.

If you build a project and then program the FPGA it will correctly point out the Bit file. Otherwise we have to manually give the path.

Hope you understand.

Regards,

Deepak D N

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Please reply or give kudo or Mark it as an Accepted Solution.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Regards,
Deepak D N
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please Kudo and Accept as a Solution, If it helps.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
Visitor mike65535
Visitor
660 Views
Registered: ‎02-22-2019

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

Vivado is looking in a place in which it is not even writing a file.  This is a bug IMO.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
Observer chris1220
Observer
353 Views
Registered: ‎09-19-2013

Re: Finding the bitstream (.bit) file

Jump to solution

I also have this issue, however, there are some rare cases (projects, computers, ?) where it properly preloads the bitstream file box with the one used previously.

Hardware manager is always opened from the Flow Navigator -> Program and Debug.  Programming is initiated by right clicking on xc7a35t_0.  I would like to know what sequence needs to be done so that the previous file is placed there instead of the C:/Xilinx/Vivado/2019.1/data/xicom/cfgmem/spi_xc7a35t_pullnone.bit file.

Incidentally, if I have a debug core built into the project, the correct default .ltx file is listed.

0 Kudos