UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Advance FPGA Design by Steve Kilts

Buy this book.  Read it.  You can absorb the important parts in less than three hours.

I am very new to HDL, but I understood everything the author discusses.  Now I know why my design is so bad!

1) gated clocks

2) async signals

3) unnecessary resets

He even gives a quickie guide to decoupling caps!

Now I need a book which clearly explains the application of timing constraints in the Xilinx wonderland.

On a humorous note, I noticed that after one of my rants (no cussing or flaming!) my "new message editor" on this forum began to display a message warning me about my language.  I guess I've been a good boy for a while now so it has disappeared.  I feel...so...childish.

By the way, when Xilinx holds a training class do they use ISE?  How do they explain the crashes?  Using only known projects?  Lots of RAM? Linux? Chicken bones in a bag around the teacher's neck?

0 Kudos
20 Replies

Re: Advance FPGA Design by Steve Kilts

Hi Mike,

To be honest I thought that book was terrible, but the though of the chicken bones made me laugh.

Bobster

0 Kudos

I liked the book because I needed structural ideas rather than the basics (even though I could use those as well).

It reads much like a book I want to write for industrial electronics that reads, "use opto isolation to avoid ground loops and here's how" rather than, "use a transimpedance flooberwuster with a transfer coefficient of .2 us downgraded by the inverse square of the expected distance between electrons in your flutter loop".

0 Kudos
Highlighted