UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Visitor osharghi
Visitor

Begginer in need of direction

Jump to solution

Hello All,

I am new to FPGAs and humbly ask for direction regarding which FPGA resources/tools would be most useful for my applications. Applications would be the control of robots and large machines so PWM, encoders, PIDs, and miscellaneous process control like turning on a piston, waiting for a limit sensor to close, and then turning off the piston. I currently use PIC microcontrollers and code in C but I am attracted to FPGAs because of their flexibility as one can have the desired amount of PWM modules, quadrature decoders, etc. and running multiple PID algorithms seems much easier with an HDL than C). Also, coding a state machine is becomes more cumbersome as the complexity of the machines under control grows.

I am overwhelmed with all of the available tools. So far, I have read up on Verilog, bought a Spartan 3E starter kit, and begun using the Xilinx ISE but am curious about PicoBlaze and MicroBlaze (MicroBlaze preferably because of the C compiler). Free software is greatly prefered:smileyhappy: Can anyone please suggest the ideal way to go about using an FPGA to accomplish the said goals and which tools would be the most useful to learn? 

Thank you so very much.

Alex 

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Instructor
Instructor

Re: Begginer in need of direction

Jump to solution

I'm wondering which direction to apply that approach? Once I have a good idea of the starter kit, would I want to use PicoBlaze or MicroBlaze in the control of my systems or are there other tools?