cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I want to learn about the basics of FPGAs for high frequency trading

Hi everyone,

As the title insinuates, I'm new to the FPGAs (or at least semi-new). I'm a recent uni grad who has been employed full time for 6 month as an electrical engineer. Unfortunately, I currently work in the power engineering industry when my passion is playing with digital logic. I've seen lots of jobs available in my city for FPGA engineers who work in things high frequency trading, which I find very interesting and I would like to pursue as a career to the best of my ability. 

Since I am not very knowledgeable about this industry yet, I'd like to know if anyone could give some insight as to what I should focus on learning in order to make myself employable in such a role. I'm not a complete novice; I've successfully written and simulated a basic cpu which reads instructions from memory and executes them (basic instructions like add, subtract, load, move, multiply, divide and conditional jumps with an alu I wrote). Any guidance is much appreciated.

0 Kudos
10 Replies

Hello sockpastarock,

To really learn FPGAs well, you really gotta start with the very basics. Logic blocks/designs, and then translate those basic blocks into HDL (Hardware Descriptive Language) code.

From here, it’s not really about learning the FPGA itself, but more on the software that you need to use the program the chip.

So you can start with latest version of VIVADO with its webpack version from here.

https://www.xilinx.com/support/download.html

while for actual hardware experience you can start with Artix-7 35T Arty FPGA Evaluation Kit.

https://www.xilinx.com/products/boards-and-kits/arty.html

with this you can surely grow in FPGA world by starting with understanding the design flow for FPGA.

with regards,

Kunal.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------