Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
Observer
Observer

Connecting custom IP to Zynq ultrascale PS

Jump to solution

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in Vivado development. 

I'm doing my first experiments with tutorials and online material and I needed some help with my small "project", in particular, how to connect my custom IP (created with Vivado HLS) to my Ultrascale board PS (part code: xczu3eg-sbva484-1-e).

My final goal is to import everything inside PYNQ and execute my simple code from there.

My custom IP part has the following C code in HLS:

// NO SYSTEM CALLS! NO STRING, NO STDIO ECC...!

typedef struct data{   // Declare PERSON struct type
    int age;
    int sex;// 1 male- 0 female
    //float weight;
}input_data;

// Classes: young_male, old_male, young_female, old_female
// If i pass only the pointer, the code doesn't actually know the real size of the array.
// In standard programming, it's no problem, since as soon as I manage it properly, I dont have any segfault
// In Vivado, since i need to build real "circuits" and connection, it needs to know the size of the incoming array
// So i have to pass my array specifying also the size

void simple_tree(input_data *input, int result[4]){ //input is a pointer to a data struct

if(input->age > 50)
	{
		if(input->sex==1)
		{
			result[0]=1; //old male;
		}
		else{
			result[1]=1; //old_female;
		}
	}
	else{
		if(input->sex==1){
			result[2]=1; //young_male;
		}
		else{
			result[3]=1; //young_female;
		}
	}

}

Which is a simple function that receives a struct and classifies the user in a decision tree approach.

This is my test bench C function: 

#include <stdio.h>

typedef struct data{   // Declare PERSON struct type
    int age;
    int sex;// 1 male- 0 female
    //float weight;
}input_data;

void simple_tree(input_data *input, int result[4]);

int main()
{
	int result[4];
	for(int i=0; i<4;i++){
		result[i]=0;
	}
	input_data data;
	data.age=20;
	data.sex=1;