UPGRADE YOUR BROWSER

We have detected your current browser version is not the latest one. Xilinx.com uses the latest web technologies to bring you the best online experience possible. Please upgrade to a Xilinx.com supported browser:Chrome, Firefox, Internet Explorer 11, Safari. Thank you!

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Observer phifred
Observer

HLS Experience

Hi All,

This is a general question of using HLS. I have a lot of VHDL experience and want to know if I should learn to use HLS.

I also have a lot of experience of both C and C++. 

So my questions are:

What is your experience of using HLS?

When is HLS preferable over VHDL/Verilog?

Cheers

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Scholar hbucher
Scholar

Re: HLS Experience

@phifred Same thing with Assembly 8086 and C/C++. Why would you ever want to use C/C++ if you can program more effiiciently in Assembly? 

1. Perfomance: you cannot outpace the compiler at this point, at least not in large scale. At this point the gain in overall optimizations throughout the system largely outpaces the drawbacks of translated code. HLS is not as complex as Gcc/Clang but it does optimize very well - usually way better that your average RTL engineer would do themselves. At least better than me.

2. Time-to-market: HLS allows you to quickly ship your product through the door. Many times absolute performance is not required but time-to-market is always king.

3. Correctness: there are plenty of cases where maintaining the logic of C/C++ code is way easier than Verilog/VHDL.  Algebra is one example that comes to mind. Using HLS ensures in these cases that you will have to deal with code that is expressed in its algorithm's natural form and usually you have to maintain less code.

4. Frequency flexibility: HLS will pipeline - or not - C/C++ expressions according to your requirements. If later you decide to ramp up the frequency of your system, you can just adjust one parameter in HLS and re-generate.